On my own...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
February 1st 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since leaving Wellington I have spent some time on my own which has been a bit different but also really good at times, it has made me make more of an effort to chat to people I dont know which has broadened my horizons a little. The following is the highlights of what I have done over the last 10 days or so.
Last night in Welliongton with Ray so we had a good old chat about the past two amazing months and had a bit of a party and a shout that annoyed the receptionist. I had to be up before 7 to get my bus, said my goodbyes to Ray had a hug and left, got on the bus that took us to the ferry port and got the three hour ferry to the North Island. Arrived in Nelson and settled in to a good hostel for a couple of nights, first night went out with a couple of lads from Birmingham, they were pretty sound but i had signed up to walk Able Tasman National Park the next day so didnt stay out too late.
Got up early for the walk, after a bus journey then a water taxi got onto the park and went ahead with the 15 kilometer walk, I wore flip flops a stupid mistake I would later go on to regret. The walk was good I listened to the Ipod pretty much the whole way round, enjoyed the views and did a bit of thinking. During the walk saw some seals, pretty cool beaches and waterfalls- Im not going to say I was let down but I feel the walk to the waterfall by Mount Doom was a much better walk with better views. The walk tired me out so chilled at the hostel for a bit, was going to stay in but instead went out as I wanted to be socialble, met a group from all over the world but being English just went off with the English people, had a good night out but as always had to be up again early the next day for the bus.
On the bus to Westport started chatting to three Northern Mackem Girls on the bus, had seen them in the hostel previously and they seemed cool, spent the day with them during which we went for another walk around a cool lake where I got bitten to pieces, again I was wearing flip flops and cut my feet several times, I decided at this point shoes were the way forward, the walk was cool but the girls were slow so had to help them along as they has the balance of Bambi on ice. Arrived in Westport and got a really good room with a kitchen and a lounge thank you! The room went out, it was a quiet town so didnt really do much. Had a big lay in the next day in Westport and as most the bus had left chilled out in the lounge. I signed up to do some quad biking in the afternoon and got picked up for that, I was the only one doing it so it was just meb and the instructor was pretty lush, took a while to get the hang of it but it was a lot of fun, spent about an hour and half doing it and really enjoyed it. I think that this was a more scary experience than white water rafting and sledging as speeds got high and there was only the ground to stop you- but dont worry Nan I was fine and didnt fall off. Spent the rest of the night with some girls local to back home and 4 Sweedish guys who were mental but sound.
Got up early again- there is a pattern here. Todays bus was a little dull so it was ipod and book for me, went for a couple more walks to see the seals I had already seen- feet still hurting but fortunatley there was a trainee doctor on the bus- she sorted them for me and they are better now- thank you. Arrived at a place called the poo pub??? where it was fancy dress night, I had bought my costume earlier was going for a bunch of grapes by attaching green balloons to myself but they didnt have any green balloons so went for white ballons and was a sheep/cloud. Before the fancy dress party went to the local lake was really scenic chilled there with the ipod and did a little more thinking was a lovely little moment for me. The party was a bit boring- organised fun isnt my cup of tea so just chilled and chatted to a few randoms not a great night.
Up again pretty early I'd imagine after the worst nights sleep due to an Austrain snoorer named Thimo who had kept me up for the last 3 nights snoring- I HATE SNOORERS JUST ROLL OVER!!!! Got on the bus to Franz Josef which is a little village just off an amazing glacier, on the way there stopped at a museum showing how some nutters had caputured deer that were becoming pests, they jumped at them from helipcopters and then fired net guns and claimed they were pioners- I disagreed I dont think you win a noble prize for jumping from a helicopter onto an animal? Left there and arrived in Franz Josef, signed up for a sky dive and a glacier climb over the next couple of days. Franz Josef was quite quiet ( Hope tahts in the right order ) so went for a walk around and bumped into the Mackem girls, chilled with them and then went out for a few drinks with them, they had done the skydive that day and got me v. excited. Had a good night with them and went back to the room ( snoorer was at it again and stepped on me when he got into his bed). Was rudley awoken at half 7 by the fire alarm, I couldnt see flames or smell burning so I stayed in bed- it was a false alarm.
Got up properly and got a bit nervous and excited for sky dive, got picked up and there were 6 of us doing it all were pretty nervous. I voluntered to go first when we got there with a very nervous girl from near Bedford, as we were filling in the forms i cicrled the word DEATH on hers- she was not happy and demanded a new form but there werent any. Got kitted up and taken up in a tiny plane, was cramped with five people and 4 of those were attached in pairs each jumper on the instructors laps. Saw some amazing views of mount cook and mount tasman, the tasman sea and the glaciers. Got up to 12000 feet and the girl in front jumped and then i followed. The jump involved hanging out of the plane while attached to the instructor, some photos are taken and then they lean forward and you both go out, our exit went into a back flip, then head first and then levelling out stomach first legs and arms back. Freefalled for 45 seconds at 200kmph was amazing such a rush with amazing views, as was tumbling out looked up to see the plane in the distance. After the 45 second freefall the cord is pulled and the parachute opens, slow right down and can take in the views, got my camera out (thats right you can take your own camera with you) and got some amazing shots, did some spins and just took it all in it was amazing and up there with the best experiences of my life. Landed safley and was buzzing for the rest of the day, the evening was pretty lame compared to the day and had to be up early for my glacier climb.
Up early you guessed it for the glacier climb. Arrived at the Franz Josef glacier and began our ascent, there was agroup of 12 that were mostly foreign so just took in the scenery. Was hard work getting up the glacier but once up got amazing views of the rainforest the glacier and the mountains was quality. Did six climbs intotal between 10 and 30 metres using ice axes and crampons, this was hard work but exhalariting, really enjoyed the day but it was a lot of hard work but such a good experience- I have now scaled a glacier so thats another box ticked. During one of the absails I did end up getting too much slack on the rope and was half way down the descent upside down the reverse view was worth the potential embarrasment. Got down and was knackard. Went on net for the first time in a week and found out Ray was where I was- we met had a catch up and decided it is a lot more fun when there are two of you- went for an early night as you guessed it an early start was to follow.
Drove to Wanaka, the bus was a bit quiet again so just chilled out on the bus, went to a lake where you get a perfect reflection, this was cool but ducks kept swimming in and rippling the water- was a bit annoying but got some good snaps. Arrived in Wanaka and just chilled, met a hair dresser so will be abusing her trade over the coming days I'd imagine. This morning I was awoken by the maid which is fine, what wasnt fine was the 4 people she had with her who she was showing how to make a bed- I was annoyed by this.
That brings us up to date again, I have enjoyed the time in my own but am ready to pair up again, its so good having someone with you as in 20 years I will be able to look back on all this and Ray will remind me of the things I may have forgotten and vice versa. The time on my own did me good but I think the next 7 weeks or so will be a lot of fun. We have two weeks in the party capital of NZ coming up so that should be amazing.... I'll keep you posted.

Lots of love.

x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb