Road Trip to Wanaka via a few places!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
January 25th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We wanted to go and see lake Matheson which is supposed to be stunning before 8am for the reflection views so we head off there at 7am as its about a 40 min drive away...just for the record my legs are KILLING from yesterday!

My kind cousin has just asked me if I am drunk when typing my blogs because of my spelling on here - honestly I am not that much of a piss head am I?! ha ha! Anyway, just to clear matters up, I type quick, my fingers run away with me and I pay a lot for the internet and I am on a budget you guys! I dont have time to go back and check it! Work with me!

Anyhow, we got to Lake Matheson and as you can see it didn't dissapoint, it was lovely and very still, we made it to the reflection island at 8am so excellent timing! The reflection you can see is Mount Cook and Aoraki. It was stunnign to see!

After that we headed into Fox Glacier town which again is a very small ski village and has a lovely feel. Stopped for a well needed coffee after our morning sprint round the lake! We are cruising our way today. we stopped at Knights Point on the way, my eyes are very sore and red today, must be from the glacier and some lady told me you got sunburn your eye balls - did you know that??! I worse my sunglasses most of the day but not all the time on the ice so I think that may be it?!! Oh dear - speccy 4 eyes Diane!

We then drove through the Haast past which is basically the road near Haast town which has stunning views and great scenery which was great. I was snapping photos out the window so we didn;t have to stop! Lucy was not liking the hills today though, putting up a right fight, maybe she's feeling the pain as well from the Glacier walk and Lou's got a sore bum from horse riding!

Anyhow, it was a lovely drive, we stopped at blue pools on the way which were amazing. It's so blue as the water is so icy. We had to go accross a swing bridge to the blue pools which was really bouncy! Some guy started jumping on it when I was on it which was funny - if Lou had been on it too she would not have been impressed I can tell you!

After the blue pools we continued on our way to Wanaka which is North of Queenstown. Wanaka has a great feel to it, it sits on the lake and the mountains on either side. We made you all a home video of the scenery when we were driving in - with vocals of course - we don't like to dissapoint our audience! The scenery on the way in were amazing, that's more what I thought NZ would be like the whole way but everyone does say the south island is a lot prettier and I have to agree!

We found a hostel called Holly's backpackers which was nice and then we decided to go fpr a wander and pick up cinema tickets. Wanaka has a cinema which everyone raves about! It's just a local one and there's a cadilac car you can sit in and then the rest of the seats are sofas and arm chairs! Well comfy! You can order your dinner to be ready during the interval - yes
On the swing bridge at Blue PoolsOn the swing bridge at Blue PoolsOn the swing bridge at Blue Pools

I changed into Shorts after that - we left early from the Glacier town remember!!!
there's an interval! They also do popcaorn, hot cookies and all that jazz! It's well good! We watched death at a Funeral which was hilarious film! Reccommend it guys! funny funny!

We just chilled out again in the hostel that night as my eyes are still sore! The man who owns the hostel is from Cottingham in Hull - how random is that!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb