Chillaxing


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Was very relieved to arrive in Wanaka, as the first thing we did was jump off a bridge into the river, which got rid of any traces of hangover, before checking in to the Wanaka Hotel (a really cool little place with TVs in rooms! Luxury!) and heading to the lake to go for a swim in the fresh water, and jump (and flip) off the jumping platform. The lake itself is surrounded by mountains, and the view was really pretty special (photos up soon).

Headed back to hotel to watch Friends, which was really nice as I don't think I've seen a TV since Sydney! Showered and headed into town for a curry, as the rest of the boys are leaving tomorrow and I'm staying an extra day here, so was sort of farewell thing. Mine was really good- lamb spinach job. Left there about 9, and got back just in time for Lord of the rings on TV. Made it though the first half hour of that before embarking on sensational sleep, so woke up this morning all refreshed. The others were on the bus at 9, so I got up then anyway, had a nice breakfast overlooking the lake, and have planned out my next week or so, going to see a rugby match and have a night in Dunedin, see some LOTR stuff, and booked my hostels. Going to have a few days in Queenstown to sort myself out for South America, and to try and learn some Spanish...

Done a big internet session now, and just about to do loads of laundry, then go for a walk in the mountains this afternoon, and to the best cinema in the world this evening. Sweet. Laters.....

Right, did indeed do lots of laundry, and decided to leave it hanging out to dry whilst I went for a hike. Was quite late decision on the hike front, as the weather over the hills wasn't looking very special. Long story short, more or less ran up hill, and got about ten minutes from the top when the mist came in, and I couldn't see anything anymore. Was tired, sweaty, wet and a bit cross. when I got down, I decided the time was ripe for my first bit of NZ hitch-hiking, as it was an hour walk to town and it was raining. Was very easy. Didn't even get to the road before some other walker offered. Easy as.

Discovered that the rain had had a dampening effect on my lovely fresh clothes. which was irritating. On the plus side after a shower and a nutritious beany toasty dinner I was feeling much better, and to celebrate feeling so good, I went to bed around half seven. This was amazing. Mr and Mrs Smith was on TV that night, so I watched that for about half an hour and sleep at 9.30. Special.

Next day was back on the bus on the way to Queenstown, so up at 8. Sat next to quite annoying girl on bus, which was annoying. She kept wanting to talk. Luckily I don't care so much about being rude, so I plugged my ipod in and ignored her. For 3 hours.

Stopped at a place called Puzzling world, which was rubbish. It was very dull, however I did get a rubiks cube that I played with for a good five minutes before it became apparent that it was quite difficult to win, which resulted in me childishly giving up and accidentally snapping part of the key chain.

Next stop was for fruit, and I bought a peach and some green things. Green things were nice. Also I had a smoothie. (Berry flavour)


Advertisement



11th March 2007

changed?
Glad to see you haven't changed at all... still ignoring nice kind ppl who want to chat etc! Sounds like ur having lots of fun still, Caths photo of you and the waterfall is great! You need to stop going to bed at 7:30pm, Granda goes to bed later than you and he's 95- you are not. Looking forward to a chat later xxxx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb