Goodbye New Zealand!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The RemarkablesThe RemarkablesThe Remarkables

Queenstown
Hello All!

I am spending my last night in New Zealand (South Island) and it was a remarkable three weeks here. I have met some wonderful people on my travels that I will truly miss. It was such a blessing to spend time learning about other people around the world. I made friends from Scotland, England, Whales, Sweden, Switzerland, S. Korea, and of course New Zealand! Some folks I have met are traveling for a few weeks, and others for years around the world. I also met many people who were traveling around the world, fell in love with New Zealand, and never left!

After leaving Abel Tasman National Park, I had an adventurous day trekking on Franz Josef Glacier with a hired guide. Franz Josef Glacier is unique in the fact that it descends from the Southern Alps almost to sea level and is surrounded by the greenery and lushness of a temperate rainforest. It is also one of the few glaciers in the world that is actually advancing, in spite of global warming, and at a rate of over 2 ft/ day!

I spent a few days in the town of Wanaka surrounded by Mt. Aspiring National Park. This remarkable park is located within the Southern Alps and is home to over 100 glaciers. I rented a car with two of my British friends and hiked through some stunning alpine scenery to the Rob Roy Glacier. I asked my Brit friend (Paul) to drive because I was really worried about having an accident while learning to drive on the left. When we were finished with the car, we decided I would return the car because it was only ONE block away...and what could possibly happen? It just happened that the police had a road block and I was of course stopped and fined for not wearing my seatbelt!

Between Wanaka and Queenstown is the sight of the 1st commercial bungee jumping site...and of course, I couldn’t resist! I jumped 140 ft off the top of a bridge into a river canyon and it was awesome!!!

My last destination was Queenstown, also coined the "adrenaline capital of the world." Here you can sky dive, bungee jump, white-water raft, swing across canyons, mountain bike, speed up rivers on jet boats, co-pilot stunt planes, and just about anything else that makes your stomach turn and your eyes
The RemarkablesThe RemarkablesThe Remarkables

Queenstown
pop out of your head. I kept it simple and hired a mountain bike for the day to enjoy some nice views of the lake and The Remarkables mountain chain.

Tomorrow, I will travel to South America and begin my journeys in Santiago, Chile. I miss you all dearly and can’t wait to see you soon.

Billy-

"The fact is, that to do anything in the world worth doing, we must not stand back shivering and thinking of the cold and danger, but jump in and scramble through as well as we can."
-Robert Cushing

Check out the bungee videos!




Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Look Mom!Look Mom!
Look Mom!

I can fly!!
Franz Josef GlacierFranz Josef Glacier
Franz Josef Glacier

Guide staff preparing the way by cutting steps in the ice.
Small town life.Small town life.
Small town life.

This old sawmill boiler is now used as a great outdoor fireplace.
Rob Roy GlacierRob Roy Glacier
Rob Roy Glacier

Mt. Aspiring National Park
QueenstownQueenstown
Queenstown

Gettin Arty.


23rd October 2006

WANTED
BILLY, wow you are truly an adventure traveller!!! swimming with elephants and bungee jumping!!! i'm so happy you are having a blast!!! i leave for thailand november 24th... too bad i missed you!!!Hey you got a ticket in N.Z. huh? dont pay the fine then you'll have a warrant there for your arrest... then you'll have a bit of a dark criminal past lke me... hahaha
23rd October 2006

Hey! i loved your pictures of the glacier. It looks like you had a much clearer day than I did. Also your bungee jumping?!?!? I was not brave enough to do that. I went a little safer and did sky diving. Again I am sorry that I could not reach you on your birthday. You were in my thoughts and prayers. That is so funny about how you were scared to drive! You were the same way last time we were in NZ. At least you didn't return the car a day early :) Glad to hear you enjoyed NZ. I look forward to hearing about your adventures in South America. Luv ya-Elizabeth
23rd October 2006

no more photos
Guess birds were not the only ones meant to fly! Love you- Mom
23rd October 2006

Wow
Billy, I am lovin' all of your journals and your pictures are amazing... can we buy some from you when you come home? You could probably submit most of them to Nat'l Geographic magazine! You are quite the professional traveler and photographer!! You'll be home before you know it and bored in the US, but we'll all be glad to have you back soon!
24th October 2006

yo mama,
hope you had a great 26th. did you have cake? i'm enjoying your trip. what's the Holy Spirit saying to you? i'm doing the best i can to keep your mom in line, but it is difficult! God's love and peace.
30th October 2006

Happy travels....
Hey Billy...how you didling? You hired a car without me!!!!!!!!! Looks like you had an awsome time and the piccies are amazing. Happy belated b'day too...hope Luke and Paul didn't cause you too much damage. I am on route to Thailand tomorrow...can't wait. Keep in touch doodio and take care. Hxx
31st October 2006

Franz Josef
Glad to see my favorite Hapsburg's influence spans the big ditch.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb