The real Patagonia


Advertisement
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Brown TroutBrown TroutBrown Trout

This fish is caught by my friend ¨The Gato¨ or The Cat.
Friends,

I have spent the last few weeks in Argentina and Chile, and everytime I think I have experienced the most beautiful sites or the most wonderful people in the world, someplace else like the Patagonia region of the Andes tops them off.

While in Chile, I volunteered with Habitat for Humanity building houses for an underprivilaged community near the port town of Valparaiso. The experience was good because it gave me a chance to give back on my trip, while at the same time learn Chilean culture. The project I worked on was building second stories for 60 houses that had families of large numbers living in very tight conditions. I found it a bit difficult to get to know the Chilean people because they seem to keep very much to themselves. Perhaps it was because I was in a big city culture and speak little Spanish, but regardless, it was a heart warming experience and I am thankful to have had it. I had one very embaressing and painful moment when I stepped onto the sheetrock of the ceiling below me (the 2nd story flooring had been removed) and fell through the ceiling into where the family
Street graphicsStreet graphicsStreet graphics

Barlioche, Argentina
was currently living below...ha!

From Chile I traveled onto Bariloche, Argentina. Argentina is possibly heaven on earth. The people are remarkable...very friendly, the fly fishing is excellent, and the beauty of the terrain is beyond your imagination. Massive lakes, snow-capped peaks, lush forests, and dry plains with fascinating rock formations all compose this wide array of landscapes.

I have met many new Argentinian friends and families that I will cherish for a lifetime thanks to a college friend who introduced me to a local friend. Everyone here has overwhelmed me with hospitality and kindness. Martin, a local english speaking designer and professional fisherman, has introduced me to many wonderful people, all excellent fisherman, and has been a real pleasure to fish and socialize with. We fish everyday, usually with other friends of his, and he even included me on an annual overnight trip to an excellent river and lodge that he takes with his fishing buddies. I have also met an amazing family that owns a ranch on a river where I have been fishing. They are very gracious and have me over to dinner and give me a bed to sleep in if I have been fishing late. The owner, Luis, raises cattle for sale and ponies for rodeos. Apparently they use these ¨loco ponies¨ for riding like our bull riding. This afternoon Luis has brought the ponies into town for a rodeo and I will learn all about it.

I pray this message finds you all well, and I hope to see you at home soon for Thanksgiving! Blessings!

Billy-

¨Nothing contributes so much to tranquilize the mind as a steady purpose-a point on which the soul may fix its intellectual eye.¨
Mary Shelley-

¨Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.¨
Phil 4:6,7

¨Never let the fear of striking out get in your way.¨
George Herman "Babe" Ruth

¨Let us strive to improve ourselves, for we cannot remain stationary; one either progresses or retrogrades.¨
Mme. Du Deffand

PS. Be sure to click "next" at the bottom of the page to view more pics







Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Butcher ShopButcher Shop
Butcher Shop

Valparaiso, Chile
Aspiring ArtistAspiring Artist
Aspiring Artist

The port of Valparaiso
Habitat ProjectHabitat Project
Habitat Project

In the middle, is a single story house that has not had the 2nd story added yet. To the left and right are the 2nd story additions completed by Habitat for Humanity.
Ouch!Ouch!
Ouch!

Notice the cracked sheet rock on the floor. This is where I fell through the ceiling!


13th November 2006

Argentina
So glad you are able to visit in Argentina. It was one of our favorite places --BUT, I am sure we did not see it thru your eyes!!! God Bless and hurry home. Love you, Yiayia
13th November 2006

Oh my!
Dearest Billy, The pictures are beautiful but what about your falling through the ceiling??!! Too much information for a Mom to read about! Love you!
13th November 2006

Truely Amazing
Hi Billy, Your in my thoughts and prayers daily. Glad to hear your having a fantastic time!! Only you can fall through the ceiling..hope your well.. Much Love Xx
13th November 2006

hey! so glad you updated the blog. Carter and I were jus talking the other day wondering what you had been up to. Again your pictures are amazing. You have such a natural eye for that kind of thing. Can you believe you are going to be home so soon?? I hope the rest of your trip goes well, and I look forward to seeing you around thanksgiving. Love, elizabeth Ps. I had a really funny dream about Gus the other night. Random huh??

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb