Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
February 6th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Exploring Queenstown


Thursday, 5th
I woke up to a freezing morning in Queenstown. The wind blowing from the lake was icy and I had to put on all my warm clothes as I had my morning devotion by the lake side. It takes a while for the sun to peek over the mountains, and the temperature started going up immediately as it did.

I parked my car a bit away from the town centre and set about walking through all the streets. I poked my head into a few souvenir shops and was astounded by how expensive things are down here! I guess with all the tourists and their stronger currency that is to be expected.

It didn't take me long to walk through every street and I moved on to the Queenstown Gardens. It is situated on a piece of land, jutting out into the lake, forming the harbour. I walked all along the water's edge stopping every couple of minutes for a photo.

After the gardens I drove up to the Queenstown Hill Walking track. Grabbed my toebbies and headed up the hill. The day had warmed up considerably and the climb was steeper than I had anticipated and I soon found myself tired and sweating like a pig.

As I climbed, I was hit by a sudden wave of depression. The hill seemed too high, the day too warm and all I wanted to do was turn back. As I've done some pretty challenging hikes, I knew this was not natural, not true and I just started praying to God to take away these feelings, these lies. It wasn't three minute later that I felt it lift from me, and in a flash my depression departed! In that moment I realized again how dependent I've grown on God and how amazing He is. I can't imagine not having Him by my side anymore.

Happy and with a spring in my step I continued the hike, singing under my breath. I soon made it to the top and was rewarded by the most spectacular view of the bay and the surrounding areas.

I lingered at the top, enjoying the view and relaxing after a steep climb. I made my way down on the opposite side, the track making a loop around the hill. It wound down mostly through a dense pine forest and the cool breeze on my hot skin was glorious.

Tried I made it back to camp, dunked my sore body in the lake and headed to bed around 19:00 for a well deserved rest.


Friday, 6th
Completely rested I woke up at 07:00. I took the Queenstown road out of town, heading west to Glenorchy, to visit some of the Lord of the Rings film locations.

I drove all along the lakeside through some stunning scenery and soon found myself in Glenorchy, another splat on the side of the road. I took the turnoff onto a gravel road to Routeburn, and the "Isengard" film location. Soon after I arrived at the Routeburn Scenic Reserve and after consulting my map I realized I drove right past it and didn't even recognize anything. I drove back past, still nothing.

From here I made my way to Paradise and the locations of "Lothlorien and Amon Hen", on another dirt road. On the way I was treated to snow on the peaks of some of the mountains ahead of me. Quite stunning.

The road became more treacherous as I neared Paradise and shortly before reaching it I was stopped by a small river running across the road. If I was in my Tazz I would have charged it and probably would have made it through, but this rental still has a long way to go!

A little disappointed I turned around, at least here, wherever you go, you'll get to see some beautiful scenery!

I spent another great night in Queenstown and planned my route to Christchurch the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb