Update ....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
September 24th 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow - finally a chance to publish another blog! I didn't have 2 minutes to spare from the moment I left home until this week. The reason I have time now ..... a broken ankle! Here's what I've been upto in the last few weeks ......

I flew into San Francisco mid-august to see my brother, who lives there. I wasn't sure what I'd think of SF but I loved it. I stayed in a hostel for 3 nights and then moved in with some friends of my brother. It was great to stay in my own room and get to ask locals about the best places to go/see. Will & Dena were so kind to take me in and they looked after me very well. They live in Cow Hollow - a really nice area - only a couple of blocks from my brother (no spare room!) at Chestnut and Van Ness. I visited Marin County, Sausilito, Monterey and Carmel outside of the city - beautiful countryside and stunning beaches. Within the city I wandered around Union Sq, Fishermans Wharf and several other areas. I like walking through cities - you get a good feel for the different districts. One of my favourite things was walking across the Golden Gate Bridge - even though I got soaked in the early morning fog!! There are so many great bars and cafes in SF, I could've spent months visiting them all. Several stick on my mind though, especially the Black Horse, London - probably the smallest bar in SF - the welcome, from staff and customers was the warmest I've ever had! There's only room inside for about 20 people and you all get chatting very quickly! Anyway, this is supposed to be my story in NZ, so..........

I flew into Auckland, at the lovely time of 5am, at the end of august. For once I was actually organised enough to book a couple of nights at a hostel in advance. Not the best hostel - room was okay but showers were awful - but at the right end of Queen St so near to everything. I only had two nights there before I hopped onto a bus for a tour of both islands so I didn't care too much! As I had been all through my trip so far I was very lucky and met nice people both nights and visited some good bars and pubs. I bussed/walked out to Herne Bay, where I lived last time I was here, and was shocked to recognise so many shops, etc. It all looked the same! I can't say the same for Auckland CBD - there's loads of construction going on (and already completed) and it looks a bit different. I also found the city had a different feel to it and I didn't like it as much as last time. Once I got on the bus I moved quickly through Rotorua and Taupo, having seen them already, and stopped in Wellington. I stayed there for 5 days and had a good time. I spent far too much time in the hostel bar instead of sampling the ones around town but I figured I'd do that on the way back through! Then it was on to Nelson to see a kiwi I met in Scotland a couple of months ago. He showed me around the area - absolutely beautiful! I'm so jealous of the views from the hill on the edge of town where he lives - I want to live somewhere like that one day! Then a quick trip down the west coast - stopping in Greymouth (mad locals!) and Franz Josef (did very well in a killer pool competition!) and then finally into Queenstown. I planned on staying here for several days as I had loads I wanted to do - it being the adventure capital of the world and all! Well after a good first night out (got in at 5am!) I decided to take advantage of unexpected good weather and do my second skydive. It all went amazingly well until the landing ..... I caught my toe and broke my ankle!! Cue a trip in an ambulance to hospital and discovering I had well and truly stuffed my ankle! Dislocated and badly broken. I had to transfer to Invercargill for an operation. I spent over a week in hospital because swelling delayed the op and now I'm recuperating on the sofa. I've been lucky again (the ankle is the only blip so far - if a big blip - in my luck) and met a really kind woman in hospital who offered me a place to stay for a week or two. With no other options I grabbed the chance! I have been well looked after here and best of all they have two dogs! I miss not having a dog!! Anyway that's it for now ..... hopefully I'll get a chance to update again soon - without having to break something first! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb