Free Fall


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
July 29th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
As I am writing this blog I am absolutely buzzing. Adrenaline is still pumping around my body and I can't stop bouncing off the walls while telling complete strangers that I just jumped out of an aeroplane at 15,000ft and did free fall for a full 60 seconds while plummeting to earth at 200kmph as the ice cold air (-15oc) rushed past my body. It was the single most amazing experience of my life!

I originally signed up to do a skydive back in Franz Josef, pushed into it by the lads I have been travelling with. I nervously signed the form and woke up the following morning to a grey sky. Eight of us from the big green fun bus (Kiwi Experience) were driven to the airstrip, only two managed to jump before it was cancelled due to poor weather conditions. I was slightly relieved that I could keep face and get out of jumping, after all I was shiting myself!

Unfortunately there was no getting out of doing the skydive. All 30 people on the bus knew I had signed up in a moment of insanity and were not going to let me leave without jumping. Our next destination was Lake Wanaka so I was automatically enlisted with six other people. It got cancelled twice in Lake Wanaka because of poor weather conditions. On one occasion I even managed to get as far as climbing into the aeroplane. In total it was cancelled 5 times down the west coast of New Zealand before I decided it was not meant to be, besides I don't think my nerves could take anymore. Unfortunately the lads had other ideas!!

Yesterday (July 29th) eight of the lads including myself decided to go and play Frisbee Golf (don't ask). While on the 18th hole, Tom sarcastically commented on the clear sky. I turned to them and spontaneously said 'I'm just going to do a skydive, I'll be back later!!'. Completely egged on by Tom, John and Richie, I ran from the park and across Queenstown to find out if I could jump off the cuff without a booking.

When I arrived at the NZone office I asked the guy behind the counter if there was any room available for one more jumper. I was shocked when he checked his computer and said yes, we leave in 5 minutes. It was all very rushed leaving me with little time to fully register what I was paying for. I quickly signed the forms forfeiting my right to sue them if my parachute did not open and the next thing I knew I was in a mini bus with 6 other nervous looking people for a 20 minute drive to the runway.

The drive to the runway was the quickest journey of my life. Everyone was nervously chatting between themselves while I was asking the driver what free fall would feel like. Will it be like a roller coaster? Will you feel your stomach go? Is it possible to be sick? Will the parachute open? Where do I put my legs? Where do I put my arms? All of these questions go around in your head leaving it in a complete nervous spin!

When I signed up for the skydive I was under the impression everyone was jumping from the same altitude. I didn't want to appear to be a wuss so signed up for 15,000ft.

When I got talking to the others in the mini bus I soon realised I was the only one jumping at that altitude, as all the others had only signed up for 12,000ft. I was absolutely shiting myself when I was told I would need oxygen before the jump. Everyone thought I was very brave, I just couldn't believe I had gone for the most extreme option. Unlike most of the adrenaline junkies on the bus I hadn't even done a bungy or canyon swing before... What the hell was I doing!

As we approached the runway I could see the aeroplane. Everyone in the mini bus went deathly silent. We climbed out of the bus and posed for a few nervous photos before going into the office to meet the instructor, camera man and get into the jump suite and harness.

I soon met my instructor and camera man who instantly made me feel calm and relaxed. Before I could properly register what I was doing, I was climbing into the jump suite and attaching the harnesses to my body. The instructor was with me every step of the way, trying to keep my mind off the fact I was about to go against every natural urge of self preservation and jump out of an aeroplane!

When I put the jump suite on I felt like a complete nutta! I couldn't even comprehend what I was about to do any longer. I was in a complete state of nervousness, excitement and fear. I was shit scared but at the same time buzzing with a thousand scary thoughts of what could go wrong rushing through my mind. All I knew is that there was no way to back out now, besides I had paid $399NZD for this experience, an experience I wasn't even sure that I wanted!

I stepped into the harnesses and lifted it over my body. The instructor loosely tightened the straps and put on my gloves and hat. Now I looked like the adrenaline junkies I had seen on TV. All I could think about was what the hell have I become, this isn't me... I don't normally do crazy stuff like this.

We went in groups of three. I was the first into the aeroplane followed by Kiel and Rose. I can't even remember what was going through my mind when I boarded the flimsy looking aeroplane. It was a strange mix of fear and adrenaline together with the thought of 'what the fuck!'. I had never felt so sick or scared in my life!

As the aeroplane took off we quickly began to gain altitude. I remember looking out of the aeroplane at the snow covered alps and commenting how far down it looks. I was soon given a reality check that I didn't want to hear. The instructor told me we were only at 6,000ft and I had a lot further to climb before we jump. Everyone on the aeroplane looked so nervous. The tension in the aeroplane was unbelievable. None of the passengers had ever done a jump before. I can't even describe how nervous I was feeling, but I kept smiling for the camera.

When we arrived at 12,000ft, the aeroplane suddenly levelled off and the door automatically opened filling the plane with a gust of ice cold air. Kiel was moved towards the door with his legs dangling out over the side of the aeroplane. I had to cover my face, I couldn't watch as they did the last few checks before jumping. All I heard was ffffuuuucccckkkkk echoing into the distance while he quickly disappeared below.

Next up was Rose. She looked so nervous that it made me feel physically sick. Her eyes were glazed over and she was completely silent. She was slowly moved to the doorway of the aircraft and within a split second she was gone. I tried to look out of the window but she had gone so quickly, I could only see the ground thousands of feet below. All I could think was 'Why the hell did I choose to jump out at 15,000ft'. I couldn't believe I was actually above the clouds. It was definitely much worse being the last to jump. I was petrified!!!!

Once the other two had jumped, the door closed and we began to climb up to 15,000ft. Only myself, my instructor and the cameraman were in the passenger compartment of the aeroplane. The atmosphere in the compartment completely changed, the nervous talking had gone. I was on my own. There was no other first time jumpers with me, I was scared senseless. I was actually buzzing with excitement and fear!

Within a few minutes the aeroplane levelled off again and the door automatically opened. The aeroplane had been pumping oxygen into the compartment so when the door opened, the air felt ice cold and thin. I could see clouds of my own breath before my face. It was actually -10oc. I knew I was breathing heavier than usual but now my fate was in the hands of my instructor and a piece of fabric packed into a bag smaller than my day bag!.

The camera man climbed out of the aircraft and stood on a steel step while my instructor tightened my harness and pushed me outside of the door. For a few seconds it did cross my mind that I was actually hanging outside of an aircraft with absolutely nothing to hold on to. I was actually dangling 15,000ft over the most beautiful view of the snow covered New Zealand Alps. I couldn't help but think that it was a beautiful day to die while desperately trying to smile for the camera!

Before I realised what was happening I was shunted out of the aeroplane and took a final breath while bracing myself for the falling sensation that never came. I remember seeing the aeroplane fly past me as I flipped upside down and over in a spin. It was complete sensory overload. It felt like I was actually flying on a gush of air. The noise of the ice cold air rushing past my body was deafening while I didn't feel the cold for one second. After the first couple of seconds I found my orientation and loved every bit of the 60 second free fall.

I can't describe the sensation, it was just the most unbelievable experience of my life, the views were absolutely stunning while the camera man circled me taking photos and making a movie. I remember swimming towards the camera which was really funny!! I remember the G-Force on my face while the air rushed into my mouth at over 200kmph.

The fear had gone, pure adrenaline had taken over. All I could do was try and take in the most beautiful view of the alps and horizon while falling at 200kmph from 15,000ft in freezing cold conditions. For a full 60 seconds I plummeted to earth and loved every second of it. While falling I didn't even think about the parachute opening, those fears were left back in the aeroplane, I was now fuelled on adrenaline.

The free fall was over so quickly. The parachute soon opened giving me the sensation of being propelled back up into the air. The harness pulled quite tightly around my body while everything went silent. For a second it took my breath away. I could now hear my instructor again, I was shouting at the top of my voice, I was buzzing... It was amazing!

The instructor did a few tricks and twists with the parachute as we descended over the alps. He spun me around incredibly quickly while I watched the ground spin around beneath. Only at that point did I feel like I was on a roller coaster, but it was nothing compared to free fall.

When I approached the ground I lifted my legs up and allowed the instructor to take the full force of the landing which was surprisingly smooth. All of the other first time jumpers were there. I high five my instructor and camera man and then ran over to the others. Everyone was relieved, everyone was buzzing. I loved it!

"I must not fear, fear is the mind killer
Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration
I will face my fear
I will permit it to pass over and through me
And when it is gone past I will turn to the inner eye to see its path
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing
Only I will remain" (Frank Herbert)

It was the single most amazing experience of my life!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks Tom, John and Richie for talking me into taking the leap of faith.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Advertisement



19th July 2009

sweet!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb