Crazy


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Queenstown BayQueenstown BayQueenstown Bay

looking out onto Lake Wakatipu
Tuesday 23rd set off mid morning to the airport to fly down to the South Island. After a short 2 hour flight I arrived in Queenstown, a very busy little town, full of backpackers and Japanese tourists. The scenery is stunning and well worth a visit. The South Island is the home to the Extreme Sport Culture. You can do pretty much anything you want to here from bungy jumping off the top of a mountain to swinging through the canyon on some very dangerous looking equipment. I settled for a ride on a Jet powered boat that was a very scary but exciting experience and booked myself onto a flight to Milford Sound. I had dinner in Queenstown and walked back as the sun was setting at around 10pm. It’s nice to have long days again and tonight I see the comet in the sky so clearly. People were just stopping in the street and staring. It was a amazing sight, and I have been lucky enough to see it several times on my travels, I guess I am travelling just ahead of it and so each time I land somewhere new there it is, since this is the furthest
View from the Jet BoatView from the Jet BoatView from the Jet Boat

what an awesome ride I fully reccomend it ever you go 1 whole hour of thrills at 90kph and sometimes only on four inches of water.
South I will be going I guess that’s it now I wont see it again.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Queenstown ParkQueenstown Park
Queenstown Park

Very peaceful to sit in and read a book in the sunshine


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb