Queen Charlotte Track


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I ended 2008 with walking for three days, climbing over a mile of elevation, across 71km (44ish miles) of one of the best scenic tracks in the world, and I didn't even have to carry my backpack. Sweet as! Apart from free accommodation, the hostel I work at also treats to a few of the tourist excursions in the area. ie. wine tours and the hiking track of which I took complete advantage of.

An hour boat ride (yes, another frigging boat!) landed me at the beginning of the track where I started my journey, of which, I mostly found myself happily alone on... ah, "the road less traveled... and that has made all the difference." After the early morning drop off, the boat took the majority of my gear and dropped it off at the campsite destination 15 miles ahead where I made camp for the night, got up, repacked the pack and left it for another boat which relayed it ahead. From some, I know I'll be getting some shit for this, but, damn man, when it's free and as convenient as this, yes, I'll happily use a sherpa.

Enjoy the trail...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Picton in the far distance.Picton in the far distance.
Picton in the far distance.

You can maybe see why I stayed for so long.
Some persons are bigger than others.Some persons are bigger than others.
Some persons are bigger than others.

What does this sign mean?!?
Toadstool. Toadstool.
Toadstool.

mmmmm, poisonous toadstool...


Tot: 0.526s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 97; dbt: 0.2658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb