Gleefully stuck in Picton


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
January 15th 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been awhile... After the slave island experience I settled back in Picton where I found good company and a job at one of the hostels, 2-3 hours a day cleaning for accommodation. Not so bad for supporting the life style. Now... almost two months later, I'm still cleaning for accommodation in the mornings; afternoons I'm working at an ice cream shop (you heard me!); evenings I'm washing dishes at one of the local restaurants. I'm also the lawn boy for Sue, the big boss lady of the ice cream parlor. Soon, I plan on running for mayor of this town. Certain places can just suck you in... but before too long I'll be leaving to finish my tour around the south island before my visa runs out, and then I'll have to take the departure flight out of this beautiful country... for the moment.

The latest agenda on paper is to buy an 'around the world ticket' and take this show on the proverbial nowhere highway and chase the setting sun westward around the northern hemisphere. I have, for now, only one agenda for the next one-two years... t r a v e l.

May this brief update find everyone well as the turning of the new year begins to wane all too quickly, too soon.

All my best.

Enjoy the picture journal show.

Hey! how's the weather? The weather here is about 80 and sunny with cool bay breezes all day long, everyday...





Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Picton from the ferry. Picton from the ferry.
Picton from the ferry.

A quaint harbour town.
3 hours later...3 hours later...
3 hours later...

Picton from atop one of the surrounding mountains.
Activities with RayActivities with Ray
Activities with Ray

During my first couple of weeks in Picton I had a lot of time on my hands... so I got creative.
Wading out, looking for mussels. Wading out, looking for mussels.
Wading out, looking for mussels.

A few of us borrowed the hostel's van and found a secluded harbor and picked a ton of mussels.
Mussel quota... 50 per person/dayMussel quota... 50 per person/day
Mussel quota... 50 per person/day

Though there was four of us, we may have exceeded that.
Wine Tour. Wine Tour.
Wine Tour.

A perk for working at the hostel.
The foreshore...The foreshore...
The foreshore...

I spent many an hour here reading and thinking under the shade of it's palms.
Christmas Dinner!Christmas Dinner!
Christmas Dinner!

in the "house of sin".
The holiday meal...The holiday meal...
The holiday meal...

a happy feast.
On the roadOn the road
On the road

back from the vineyards.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb