Rain, Mist and more Rain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
March 2nd 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -45.0311, 168.663

I woke up early so I did not have to queue for shower, my room in Haka lodge was nice with free wifi but my room was on top of the kitchen /lounge with the kitchen open all hours so the noise of people cooking and the smells even at 3 am, kept me awake.


The bathroom was very nice but being next to Lounge/ kitchen, it was occupied most of the time and I had to use one on the other section, the staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. Queenstown in the Southern Island of the country is very touristy on the banks of Lake Wakatipu, nestled with snow-capped mountains of the Southern Alps and the rolling farmland with sheep, deer and dairy farms. It was pouring heavily outside with mist so I decided to chill till the weather improved, I read some news on the internet and I slept in the afternoon. When I got up the weather had not improved so I cancelled going on the gondola but I decided to go for a stroll to the lake and soon the rain stopped, there were lot of people near the lake even though it had been pouring.
I then walked to The Queenstown gardens which are beautiful after drizzle, I enjoyed my walk seeing autumn lush colours, roses, ducks in the pond, lovely quaint bridge with the views of Lake Wakatipu and it was free entry.


Queenstown is famous for its bungee jumping, other activities and a good place for younger crowd to enjoy. I sat near the lake and chatted to one of the girls I met in the tour, she was really unhappy with her hostel so she was going to change her hostel and the next day she was leaving to go back home to Korea.
I also met a guy who was upset as someone had stolen his passport, cards /cash and he had reported the theft to the Police plus the Embassy, he just wanted to go home.
I walked around the town, found the Fergberger and they do veggie burger so I had one which was fine then I watched the sunset at the lake and headed to the hostel. I bought 10 pack of Latte which worked out very good value.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1mb