Tranquil Wanaka


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
March 3rd 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -44.6987, 169.133



Today I took the Connectabus outside the subway in Camp Street, I was the only one in the bus but the driver still took me to Wanaka passing through Cardona Pass which is v scenic. It climbed up on few sharp hair pin bends; I saw the rainbows, mountains. I paid only $45 but it was most enjoyable ride. I arrived at Wanaka early at Yha Wanaka so I dropped my bag at the locker room. The staff here were really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

I walked to the lake which is scenic with shops restaurants, the weather was very sunny and it was really nice here, on the way back, I shopped at new World Supermarket, which was v reasonable. I decided to do bit of cooking at YHA, the kitchen had been cleaned so I made chips and beans and I ate in the lounge/ dining room with views of Lake Wanaka.


My room here was really nice and I had free wifi in the room being a YHA member, Wanaka is much quieter then Queenstown and it was very peaceful here, my favourite place in New Zealand.I decided to take it easy and enjoy the tranquillity here. I caught up with my emails, news and reading, I also spend some of my time in the lounge/ dining room enjoying the views, walks near the lake and the beautiful sunsets.






Next day I did the three quarter trail of Mount Iron but there was heavy wind, my asthma was bad and last straw was that 2 dogs jumped on me from behind scaring the hell out of me, they were being friendly of course. Being on my own, still long way to go on my world trip, I made a decision to walk back, I would have done the trail if I had company, there were locals walking their dogs up the trail. I really enjoyed staying at Wanaka, my hostel was great, my room was ensuite, the kitchens were clean, not as busy as other hostels and the lounge had great views. I definitely recommend YHA Wanaka.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb