A Barcelona moment


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
January 11th 2006
Published: January 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A 'Barcelona moment'???.... in 1997 I had a 'perfect' moment at a market in Barcelona, sitting at a simple food stall, eating a gorgeous meal with a very nice white wine, food, colour, people, a nice buzz... as I said, just 'perfect'... and could not be planned...

today at Waitari Creek Winery, 30kms or so out of Queenstown, with tastebuds pushing for encounter and having winetasted at a couple of other wineries and eschewed dining at 2 larger, classier wineries, I wound my way down the dirt road to find an old timber church, now restuarant and tasting room. It sits not far from the foot of mountains, with most helpful and friendly staff. My wine tasting found me strongly allured by a 2003 Pinot Noir, an achievement for the wine, as the Pinot Noir (red) is not normally my favourite wine.

I dined on the recommended meal accompaniament (this looks decidely misspelt) - a little bit of a little lamb - and it was lovely, complemented and mutually enhanced by the gorgeous setting, sitting outside, not deterred by intermittent precipitation, peppered with the warmth of the solar one. Reading Haiku, a styled form of Japanese poetry, seemed also to match the occasion.

It was just gorgeous. Similar to Barcelona, fine food and wine and location and my own mood and maybe the spirit of the day, coming together in a soulful accord.

Photos below may give some impression, hope you can stand the prevalence of my smiling, wine warmed nog in these shots.

cheers

Bernard


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th January 2006

HA HA!
Hey! I know what you mean by "A Barcelona Moment". My friends and I defined the "Apple Strudel Principle" - meaning that it doesnt matter where we taste Apple Strudel, it will never be as good as the Strudel we tastes in Munich. Apple Strudle Principle = Guiness In Ireland.... erm... so I know what you mean. heheh Kate www.kateonthego.blogspot.com
13th January 2006

Lavazza
Hey Bernard Great comments re Barcelona moment. A short black on the Rialto in Venice did it for me. How's the coffee over there? I know you found some Illy but is there any Lavazza perfetto espresso? You may need to head to Venice! Lots of love. PF et al.
14th January 2006

Bellisamo (if that is how you spell it)
Pleased it struck a chord, Kate and Peter - they are blessed moments - wherever you are travelling, Kate, travel beautifully!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb