Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
February 13th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Fernhill Track, QueenstownFernhill Track, QueenstownFernhill Track, Queenstown

Wandering in the forest
Adrenaline pumpimg & it was time to move on. Queenstown next stop. The party town of the South Island apparently. It's not a massive town but there are backpackers everywhere. There are a few nice walks in the area with the mountains all around, so I couldn't complain of boredom even though I was on my own for most of the time.

The Fernhill track & the Ben Lomand track are nice. The latter is a killer as you walk the last hour to the summit.....I thought I'd never reach the top. Thankfully I was rewarded with a aspectacular view of the lake & nice blue skies. In great anticipation we headed to the Skyline reataurant at the top of the gondola for a buffet meal for Valentine's Day. An all-you-can-eat buffet. The food was lovely but my belly has never been so stretched & stuffed. Honestly I tried everything......about 3 courses before the mains & then about 5 desserts....it was excessive eating at its worst. Never again! Don't think my poor tummy knew where to put it.

The following day we made oue way to Manapouri. Actually we thought we had accommodation booked there but we didn't so ended up in the next town in Te Anau. From there we were doing an overnight cruise of Doubtful Sound with Fiordland Expeditions. Doubtful Sound is a waterway in Fiordland National Park & it is stunning. We went on a small boat with only 9 people on it so it was nice & relaxed & the atmosphere was very open & friendly. The skipper caught crayfish & we supplemented this with our own catch-of-the-day. I caught 2 fish, blue cod & perch but can't say it was beginner's luck cause there was no skill involved in what I was doing. Fishing was great fun. They tasted good. So that night we had about 4 courses, fish making a welcome staple in the meal. So delicious! I had a chance to go kayaking too so all in all it was a great trip.....short & sweet!

From there we went back to Queenstown for 3 nights. We've turned into proper adrenaline junkies. We went canyon swinging & bungy jumping. Both were fantastic. The Nevis bungy jump is 134m & was definitely the biggest thrill of them all. The drive to the canyon is a bit nerve-wracking cause it was only a
QueenstownQueenstownQueenstown

From afar in the forest
dirt track the width of the van up the side of the mountain. I was so excited before jumping & it was only the few seconds before I jumped & looked down that it struck me how unnatural it is to be launching myself out into thin-air down in to the canyon. The buzz is amazing though. Loved it! Screamed & laughed a lot.

So that sums up Queenstown. Pretty town & the lake looks great when the sun shines. The Fergburger is to be recommended for its class A burgers. Enough said I think.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Queenstown afarQueenstown afar
Queenstown afar

Lake, mountains...all the good stuff
Thankfully the skies were clearThankfully the skies were clear
Thankfully the skies were clear

Ben Lomand track, Queenstown...the summit was a killer.....was near turning back
Made it!Made it!
Made it!

U see I didn´t cheat..
Before the Nevis Bungy JumpBefore the Nevis Bungy Jump
Before the Nevis Bungy Jump

Grace, John-Ross & me....very happy to be jumping 134m free-fall!
All strapped upAll strapped up
All strapped up

And slightly hyper....jumping beans in my socks I think!
Queenstown bluesQueenstown blues
Queenstown blues

Trying to show you how pretty it is....not sure they do it justice
Doubtful SoundDoubtful Sound
Doubtful Sound

Fiordland National Park
The saddleThe saddle
The saddle

On the way to the sound
My 2nd fishMy 2nd fish
My 2nd fish

Bigger than my first...blue cod...tastes great!
Doubtful Sound waking upDoubtful Sound waking up
Doubtful Sound waking up

Wished I looked that good when I wake up
What´s realWhat´s real
What´s real

Or is it a reflection?
3 happy ship-mates3 happy ship-mates
3 happy ship-mates

All smiles from beginning to end
Fox SunsetFox Sunset
Fox Sunset

Out at beach....


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb