Well blow me down with a feather...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
October 9th 2005
Published: October 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

OK so I may not have been blown over by a feather but I have been by the scenery, especially on my trip today. Currently in a place called Queenstown which sits on beautiful Lake Wakatipu.

So what have I been up to since I left the North Island last Sunday? Well I shall hence forth tell you. Got the inter island ferry to a place called Picton where there is nothing else there apart from the ferry terminal. Most interesting thing we saw there was the bus drivers dad's house. The scenery once we had crossed into the Southland area was things you see on postcards. Huge hills covered in trees and some bare after the effects of logging. I stood at the back of the ferry and got good views all around. The water must have been quite deep as the huge (ex English Channel) ferry got quite close. Some people had houses right on the edge with nothing around for miles.

Drive from Picton to Nelson went West up and down hills and round some hairy bends.
The next day me and 3 other people from the bus went for a 'little' walk in the Abel Tasman (he was the first person to find NZ but never set foot on it, the Brits did that) National Park. Gota boat ride to a place called Torrent Bay and then preceded to walk for 14km! Yes I'm shocked I walked that far too! Saw some amazing sights and took a couple of detours off the main track to find a lovely waterfall and a pool that then went into a river. All along were little bays that the track overlooked. There is the option of kayaking so you have a bit of time on the beaches. Met few people going the other way. Some of them were camping for a couple of nights so were laid down witth their big bags. Glad I did it as saw some cool stuff and got off the beaten track. The next day in Nelson I had a little rest and went and watched Wallace and Grommit along with every other 10 yr old in Nelson. Today is the last day of school hols.
Greymuth was the destination on Wednesday. Went to the point that NZ is closest to Aus hence why there isnt many people living there! lol), had a beautiful walk along the coast and saw a seal coloney. They're so funny flapping about. Im easily pleased! Also on the coast was Pancake rocks were the rock as formed like pancakes (durh).

On to Franz Joseph the next day for the glacier. Booked me self on the al day hike For this one needed to get suited and booted and look a right idiot. But hey practicality over fashion! Was all pumped after making myself a little packed lunch and waking up at 6am. Our guide said that it was taking the other guides a little bit longer to cut the ice so we were heading on a detour off the main track (or sensible route as I like to call it). The other track involved climbing up waterfalls, over slippery rocks and up and down some v dodgy ladders. This would be OK if I wasnt wearing boots that werent mind, having talonz (ice spikes) strapped to my front, a huge raincoat and a backpack. I met my match in the form of a slippery rock. I was walking down it and decided that it would be better to go down on my bum. Did quite a spectacular slip and slid down the rest of it. But I was brave and carried on. We made it to the front of the glacier and then the guide told us that the glacier had been deemed inaccessible, due to the crap weather and that parts of it were falling off. So we headed back to HQ before we all got hypothermia. At HQ I decided to get a refund, instead of trying again, before I got myself killed on the glacier and I wasnt particulary enjoying the fear of wondering when I was next going to land on my back. The walk to the front was good enough for me.
Yesterday the weather was perfect and I could see the top of the mountain from the hostel. Bit annoyed as I was going to go yesterday but decided to be socialable and go with the rest of the group from the bus. But I walked myself to the glacier and back. Could see all down the valley and to glacier. I decided to go to a place called Peters Pool which was well worth it. I got some absolutey brillant photos, things seen only in guide books. Def going to enlarge
the photos and frame them, cos I think they're quite good.

Today has been the highlight of NZ so far. A long journey from 7.30am to 6pm but stopping off along the way. Left Franz Joseph and went to Lake Matheson which is famous for its still waters and therefore look like a mirror. Continued along the road and said goodbye to the Tasman Sea as we headed in land. Stunning views all arround with snow top covered mountains. Drove past Lake Hawea which is 400m deep and therefore lies partly beneath sea level. A few of us on the bus agress that this is what NZ is all about and beat the North Island by miles. Carried on down to Wanaka (can get a few giggles out it, I did have to look twice at the name). Again boody brilliant. Went to a bungy place where one bloke did it from our group. Not me, I aint that silly. Watched a couple of people do it and we all became experts on what to do for jumping, like dont think about it etc. A bit hypocritical as none of us were going. Saw one woman chicken out she nearly went and then her sensible voice kicked in. Then arrived in Queenstown which sits on the lake and is quite populated. The other lakes nobody was really around them but here its quite toruisty due to the ski season and good summers.

Off to Milford Sound which has been on my 'to go to list' another 12 hour day of sightseeing and then I move on to Dunedin (home of Cadburys). Will try and get pics up in Dunedin hopefully the CD burning is a bit cheaper there.
Less than 3 weeks before I come back to Blighty. I'll enjoy this time while it lasts.
Hope all is well


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb