On my way to Makarora


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Oamaru
February 21st 2009
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been in the town of the great Penguin (Oamaru) for a month now, my the time has flew past. Living on a farm in the Waitaki valley then moving into Oamaru itself has been an interesting experience.
I had been doing some odd jobs around the farm in return for food and board before moving to town and working in Fat Sallys, the hip and happening bar..did I say that? as a waiter and barman.
Along the way we managed to write-off our lovely Nissan Bluebird, well to be honest it was me who piled it into a fence post while rallying around the farm under the influence of the red grape, the fierce drifting and reverse donuting for the following 4 hours just about finished it. Like a hardy wee f**ker she was and with oil spilling from her engine block she only just made it to the scrapyard the next day and I said goodbye for the tidy sum of 100 bucks.
4 days later I'm in the possession of my new car, bought at Smash Palace for 1200 bucks, a Mitsubushi Diamante 2.5 V6, very tidy indeed and the car which shall cruise me to Makarora in 4 days time,,,in style. (lots of 4's)
To find out more about Mak I have been reading other peoples blog accounts so have decided to document my stay there within this blog so that anyone out there wondering what the Wilderness resort is all about will wonder no longer.
I read of lots of Karaoke and beautiful sunsets, interesting...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb