I Was On A Boat!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region
December 19th 2013
Published: December 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have actually been on a couple of boats in the past couple of days, which was awesome.

Yesterday was probably the best day of my trip so far. I went on a guided kayak tour of Abel Tasman national park. We spend the morning paddling through beautiful scenery and very close to several swimming seals. In the afternoon I was able to hike down the coastal track to Bark Bay, which had a great beach for swimming. The park was so peaceful and our guide was so knowledgeable and helpful, which made for a great day.

Today was also a lot of fun. I drove out to the Buller Gorge for a jet boating ride. Jet boating is basically a more extreme version of powerboating, with more spins, rapids and fast speeds. In order to get to the jet boat, I had to cross a swingbridge over the gorge. That was actually more scary to me than the boat trip.

I couldn't take any tablet photos on the kayak or the jet boat, so all I have for you is a picture of Kaiteriteri beach. It looks kind of like the national park, if you picture a more remote landscape, more rocks and trees, and greener water.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb