Life On The Road


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 23rd 2013
Published: December 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have moved on from the top of the South Island to the city of Christchurch. They are still recovering from their earthquakes and there are lots of empty lots and construction cranes around.

The last few days in Picton went by very quickly. I did another boat trip / hike as well as a wine tour. I continue to be impressed by the scenery as well as the tourist infrastructure here. For both of my hikes, I was dropped off and picked up by a water taxi that was also carrying luggage for people doing multi day hikes.

I am pleased to announce that I have driven and returned my first rental car successfully (unless I unknowingly left a trail of destruction in my wake ). At first I was nervous about driving but it was definitely worth it. Not only did I see more, I was able to stop and take more pictures on the road. The one I am posting today is of the Queen Charlotte drive and the Marlborough Sounds.

Another benefit of driving myself was exposure to New Zealand radio. You will be happy to know that there is a radio commercial that refers to Rob Ford ( someone wants to get him a hug for Christmas ). Makes me reconsider telling people that I'm from near Toronto.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb