Abel Tasman


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
December 20th 2011
Published: December 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rained quite hard as I moved on to Nelson this morning but my first thoughts were for my son who starts his basic training today - albeit 13 hours later due to time difference! One of the good services that the hostel in Nelson provided was a free pick-up from the bus station which was greatly appreciated. The other was free hot chocolate pudding and ice cream at 8.00pm every night. It's the sister hostel to Sequoia Lodge in Picton. Up early the next morning to make my way to the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park. I had hoped to do some walking in the park but again I should have checked independently on me hostel's location because although in the description it says it is on the edge of the park - compared to Auckland maybe - but it was actually a 5km walk to the entrance and by the time I'd walked there and still had the return journey to do I didn't go into the park. There was a lovely beach that I made use of though and it was a lovely place to just sit and read in a hammock whilst topping up the tan (after applying
VineyardsVineyardsVineyards

They go on for miles
factor 30 of course). I actually managed to walk to the first beach in the park on the day I left to head back to Nelson as the owner took me to where the bus picks up which was right next to the entrance! I managed to see a little of Nelson this time and I have to say it is a lovely town/city and seems like it would be a nice place to live. At this point I have to say I haven't been looking forward to this part of my trip as it means I have to leave the South Island, which I have loved, it has such a different feel to the North Island and I definitely prefer it. I think it also made me feel like I was starting the journey back to the UK. Having said that it was a lovely trip through to Picton, including the main wine region of New Zealand, even driving past the Brancott estate which apparently produces the best Sauvignon Blanc in the world. The ferry journey back to Wellington was just as beautiful as the first time I made the trip and again no rain. Goodbye South Island - hello North Island.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb