Nelson and Onwards


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
October 18th 2009
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pancake RocksPancake RocksPancake Rocks

The bus stopped here on the way up the West Coast. Don't they look pancakey?
Arrived in Nelson, hadn't booked a hostel. Such fun! Found my way to the nearest one, but it wasn't very friendly, so moved to another one the day after. Honestly, I can sum up my time in Nelson with: jigsaw. I spent a day at the museum (not very good, no organisation at all, looked like they'd just flung random bits and pieces together), and watched some local school groups performing. Some were good, a few were embarassingly bad, but they all seemed to be having a good time so that's good.

Otherwise, the hostel was so nice and kind of cozy that we trying to this backwards 1000- piece 'wasgij' for ages. I had to leave before it got finished, but I have photographic proof that it did eventually get done.

This is the last place in the South Island before leaving for the summer in the North Island, but I'll probably come back one day. I meant to go to Abel Tasman park and didn't get round to it, but I will be back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Official Center of New ZealandThe Official Center of New Zealand
The Official Center of New Zealand

Although I believe the actual center is down the hill and o'er dale (not exact directions, obviously)
Random school orchestraRandom school orchestra
Random school orchestra

See the audience sheltering from the rain


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb