Small town New Zealand.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
November 20th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Nelson via water taxi (Portage to Picton) and Intercity coach (Picton to Nelson); I shared the water taxi with two German couples (the relevance of this will become clear later).

At Picton I bumped into the Danish couple, John and Heidi, who I had met in the Bay of Islands. It was nice to hear what they had been up to; I think I will meet more and more people as I meet more and more people. They were going on to Motueka near Abel Tasman National Park, whereas I was to stay in Nelson; on reflection, I should have continued onto Abel Tasman rather than staying in Nelson.

Nelson is OK, I think it would be difficult to rate it much more highly than that. I saw the cathedral that took from 1800's to the 1950's to complete, and South Street which is a row of historic pioneer houses. That is about all Neson has to offer, besides the geographical centre of New Zealand which is in a nearby park that I missed.

The highlight of my stay in Nelson came in the eveing, at the Boat Shed restaurant. With not much to do
Historic South StreetHistoric South StreetHistoric South Street

All original 1860s houses
and having struck up no converstions in the hostel I decided to eat out at one of Nelson's top restaurants. It was really good, I had paua and crayfish, both delicacies. It was well worth the wait for the table, I couldn't believe how busy they were on a monday night not in peak season. It wasn't cheap but Nelson is famous for it's seafood so I thought I'd splash out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The view from the Boat Shed restaurant.The view from the Boat Shed restaurant.
The view from the Boat Shed restaurant.

I can highly recommended this place for good seafood.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb