Mount Cook


Advertisement
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was so glad I decided to go to the Mount Cook area before going back to Christchurch to go home. We has perfect weather and the surrounding mountains give spectacular views of this very dangerous mountain. 2 Japanese climbers died while I was there. Mount Cook claims 11 lives per year on average. Why anyone would do it is beyond me.

On the first day I did the Hooker valley walk which took about 4 hours. It was a good warm up for my 2 day hike involving an overnight stay in Muller Hut. Bloody freezing up there but the views were well worth it. I got up for sunrise and experienced a wonderful peaceful morning with the local Kea parrots. I certainly recommend Mount Cook to anyone visiting New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Muller Hut TrackMuller Hut Track
Muller Hut Track

On the way down
Muller Hut TrackMuller Hut Track
Muller Hut Track

On the way down


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb