Brewster Hut


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The weather is looking suspect as the day dawns. Big, ominous rain clouds hang high above the mountains on the other side of the lake. Forecast says showers but the wanderer thinks there might be enough gaps in between them to make a day out worth it anyway. The ankle is still twingeing but not too badly so an hour's drive and the only thing between me and the Brewster track is the river. Last time, it defeated me. This time, I skip across from rocks to rock as the shallow waters amble past.

The sign reads 3 hours for Brewster hut but I'm hoping the cloud might lift and allow an ascent to the summit of Mt Armstrong above the hut. An hour and much root-skipping later I'm above the bushline. Another 45 minutes and I'm at the hut. The ankle is complaining a fair bit but not necessarily barring further progress but a big, stubborn cloud hides the summit of Mt Armstrong as well as the Brewster Glacier beyond.

So an hour's skipping downhill and I'm back at the car. A good enough hike for today.

Tomorrow I leave Wanaka and head for Mt Cook village and hoping the weather might allow for an ascent of Mt Sebastopol.

Advertisement



26th March 2013

Lard up the ankle
You've got two ankles, so either dispense with one or plaster a load of lard or bear grease on the duff one:-) We should soon be back to the bee saga then ;-)

Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb