Em's first Blog Entry


Advertisement
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone. Well I have finally started my blog!!! Sorry its taken so long but this is going to be my challenge when I’m away as writing really isn’t my thing! Whereas you all know I can talk for Britain!!! Lol

Time already seems to be flying bye but am happy to say I feel like I’ve done so much already and am currently on my second WOOFer job. For those of you I hadn’t had chance to bore before I left the WOOF scheme is Working Opportunities on Organic Farms. This actually varies greatly and as long as the ‘host’ is involved in organic food (mainly Vege gardens) they can use the scheme!! You work about 4 hours a day for all your meals and accommodation which is great if you’re on a tight budget and you also get involved in the local community.

Firstly I’m just going to let you know what I did before starting the WOOF programme…

Fiji was great I chilled for the couple of days I was there. The only thing I would say is if you go definitely go on an Island tour and if staying for a few days don’t stay in Nadi if the beach is what you’re after! I went to Island on a day tour and snorkelled. Also met some really interesting people with lots of stories of travels which was great. Got really sun burnt though!!! Couldn’t believe it I never burn!

On to New Zealand. Had a mad first week touring around with my friend Stu, now I look back I can’t believe we fitted so much in! Mt Cook, Queenstown, and trekking for a half day up Franz Joseph Glacier (which was fab!) just a few things to mention. Then back to Mt Peel for Julie and Ad’s wedding. What an amazing day, the church in a beautiful location (can see why they wanted to get married there) and the service was great. The reception was full of dancing and laughter. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Since the wedding I helped for a day with James (Ad’s Best man who’s also travelling doing the WOOF scheme) at Julie’s parents and sister’s farm before going onto to my first WOOF job in Diamond Harbour at Shunyata Health / Healing Retreat. I helped out with the garden and vege patch mainly. Visited a couple of great beaches one of which was in Sumner Bay. The whole area is beautiful wherever you turn you have an amazing view with something new to take in each time. Paru our ‘host’ was a fantastic cook and looked after us well, kindly letting me use the sauna and she also gave me a free bodywork session (if I wasn’t chilled enough to start with, think I was walking on air when she had finished!!)

Had the next couple of days to be a tourist again!! Visiting Hamner Springs (which was a bit disappointing), Kaikora and Picton. The east coast road is beautiful. We managed to spot some seals on our way up to Picton. Had amazing Seafood in a small restaurant in Picton, the platter was huge! I really don’t think we did it justice!

Onwards and upwards to the Marlborough Sounds and my second WOOF job at Ngaio Bay Eco B&B. Can’t say much yet as I’ve only just arrived. First impressions absolutely stunning. My accommodation is right on the beach with small blue Penguins for neighbours (by god they’re noisy!!!) and dinner was scrumptious.

Hope I haven’t bored you too much and sorry if I haven’t been in touch personally. Hope you don’t mind the group theme its really difficult to access the net sometimes. Anyway enough excuses, hope you’re all well. Take care, Em x

P.S. Will post some photo's in the next few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb