March Madness


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Glenorchy
April 4th 2006
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday morning awakes to find me still in Glenorchy.
My original plan was to head to Queenstown early today, do the internet/blog and upload pictures gallor.
And then watch NCAA basketball finals, live at 1PM!!!!!
Well you all know that didn't happen.

I was originally all stoked to be watching March Madness... and the opportunity to watch the finals. I watched the first 5 minutes of the LSU/UCLA game on Sunday and I realized I just didn't care.
Its funny, I've tried in OZ, Philippines, and here in NZ to convince people how great March Madness is and that the NBA is shit. (I think I've succeeded on the 2nd part.) But since being here I've realized that March Madness is great because of the hype. If you aren't around to take part in it, then you don't care. You can't get excited about the close finishes. It was a week after that fact that I saw the end of the WV/Texas game. I didn't care anymore, neither team was still playing. Being abroad you don't get to really follow any teams, you don't know the rivalries. March Madness really loses its appeal... other than the appeal of good basketball.

So I decided to scrap my plan.
Now the question is do I head down to Milford today and hope the rain was enough that there might be some whitewater to boat, or do I go canyoning.

I elected to go canyoning.
Canyoning was much better than expected. I really expected a kind of tamed down thing for tourists, but it was full on. You start off, with a 4 or so meter jump into a pool of water.
But its not just a jump... I'm sorry its not a jump at all, you step off the edge. If you jump you will go to far and hit rock. You have about a 1-2 meter square area to hit, or you hit rock.
So there are lots of jumps like this. And then there are slides down the water falls also, into pools.

And of course rappelling and zip lines. Unfortunately you don't do your own rappelling, they just lower you down.

But it was amazing fun... I was sore and exhausted the next day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 21; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb