On Ice


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

before take offbefore take offbefore take off

you could see both Mount Cook and Mount Tasman
well, we had some money left, and decided to go by helicopter onto Fox's glacier. It takes you right high up onto the ice, where it is so quiet. I thought we'd just wander around, but no, we must climb through ice caves and walk along the side of a crevasse. It is not something I want to do again, much too slippery for me. I was quite relieved that we had to be airlifted out early, because the weather turned bad. I thought I was scared of the helicopter, but actually I was a lot more scared of being on the ice. Talk about nature in the raw. I must say it was beautiful, very blue, and lots of caves and arches in the ice, and loads if surface water too. But not for me. Alex enjoyed it, and so did the rest of the group, I think. so don't be put off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

birds eye view.birds eye view.
birds eye view.

if there are any birds there.
crevassecrevasse
crevasse

I had enough trouble staying on my feet, photos not the best!
ice archice arch
ice arch

you can just make it out, but someone got in the way - there were only 14 people up there, you'd think you could avoid each other!
meme
me

with a walking pole - I may be some time!
view of Franz Josephview of Franz Joseph
view of Franz Joseph

from terra firma.
a bit closera bit closer
a bit closer

you couldn't get to the terminal because all the rain yesterday made it unstable. look at the colour of the water in the river.


30th March 2008

I like the internet cafe!
Do they serve coffee and tea?
30th March 2008

Glaciers
I am glad I did not go up to the Glaciers - it looks very dangerous! but spectacular too!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb