Does that make me Crazy?? Does Dan like his gravy??


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
July 15th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Im like a bird I always fly away!Im like a bird I always fly away!Im like a bird I always fly away!

THE most exhilerating feeling ever ever ever.
Hello and welcome to the latest instalment of Jonnys New Zealand adventure. My last blog kind of described how beautiful this country is. Well nothing compares to Queenstown, a place of such natural beauty. Set on a lake with snow-capped mountains surrounding it, the palce is like a little winter wonderland sort of place- the sort of town you would find in the Alps but is a lot cheaper, nicer people without loads of pretentious skier nobheads, and warmer as its not that high! We stayed at the YHA, an excelled hostel that caters for all and is opposite the lake. However it is about 10minutes walk from the centre, so post pubs, the walk can be a bit chilly on the billy!!

Starting the "Queenstown experience" we booked up for a bit of action packed adrenalin nutty case activities consisting of a canyon swing thingy and a bloody great big bungee thingy! Day One, post a great night out with the Irish girls from our glacier walk, dare we enter the canyon swing?! Too right we did! At the bottom of the gondola we were to ride up the hill was a graveyard and a pharmacy- was God trying
I look so calmI look so calmI look so calm

But felt like pissing myself!
to tell us something?! Fear- I laugh in the face of it- araghahahahaha! Arriving at the top of the hill, we found the place where we were to have our first adrenalin rush- our job was to be attached to a rope and be hurled in a big arc across a hillside. Overlooking Queenstown the views were stunning. The heart was beating faster than a drum-n-base fast based drum. I was last, unfortunately, as Dan "the screamer" (horrific) and Mike "the not-so-screamer-but-a-little" went first. Next I was attached into the harness and told to pull a small string which would send me flying. I had my hand on it, about to show off and have a bit of a swing, when before I know it I was flying through the air and ridiculous speeds. I managed to put my hands out like wings which made me look cool! It was such a rush. When you reach the far side you slow up and you kind of realise what you have just done. In typical Jonny style, I started to sing 'Im like a bird' by Nelly Furtado- it relaxed me, even though my bits felt like they were getting squashed
Dont look down you nincompoopDont look down you nincompoopDont look down you nincompoop

I felt like Indiana Jones- taking the leap of faith!!
into oblivion by the weight of my fat belly on the harness!! Crikey it hurt!! You swing and dangle for a bit and then get heaved up. Awesome!!

But the best was yet to come as the very next morning we were booked on to the Nevis Bungee Jump, the highest in New Zealand at 134metres. Taking a 40metre bus ride the heart again had a bit of irregularity to it. Once harnessed in we were taken into the middle of a huge valley by a small cable car thing onto a pod, about 140metres up. Me and Dan were to be among the first ones to jump (of about 25 or so) as we were the heavy fat ones (techincially I am lighter than Dan, but when wieghed in i was pretty much the same- in my defence I had heavy clothes on). Getting strapped around our legs in a dentist chair, numerous thoughts of scaryness go through your head, before you shuffle onto the step. Again, 'Im like a bird' settled my nerves! A look down and you see that its a bloody long way and if that rope doesnt catch you, your head is going to
Sultans of SwingSultans of SwingSultans of Swing

Luckily it wasnt Dire Straits! Thats me at the bottom!
be on that rock faster than you can say did you tie my laces??!!! One look to the camera and i jumped. Shit! Shit! Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt! It was the best and scariest thing I have ever done- as you come closer to the ground you do slow down but your feeling so alive that you dont care. You bounce a few times up and down then you are supposed to pull a cable to make you turn upright. Like a muppet I didnt pull it right, so dragged up back to the pod upside down. Could kind of take in the views but as I constantly felt my legs were going to slip out of the grips and I was meet an unhealthy death, I didnt enjoy it that much. Once back to the top I got turned upright and all the blood rushed from my red head (yes no ginger jokes please guys!). I was literally shaking in fear but god what a few seconds of brilliance!! Loved it!!Ive got the DVD from both jumps so anyone wanting to see me in action my mum will have them in a few days!!

In the afternoon we played golf which
Me post jumpMe post jumpMe post jump

Bit of a headrush as I got heaved back up to the pod upside down. Was literally shaking when i got back inside safe.
i naturally won- but no holes in one so wasnt quite as good as the Bungee Jump!

The next day, in comparison to the greatness of the previous day, was crap. I hadnt booked a night in the hostel, so when told that it was booked up for the following night when I went to pay in the morning I was pissed off- more so cus I was incredibly hungover!! So off me, dan and Chris marched to find another hostel, which we did. The day was spent chilling out and wandering thorugh the gardens watching 'crazy' people play frisbee golf in the park. Oh the fun they must be having! I suppose you cant have big adrenalin rushes everyday otherwise it would get dull!

That night we celebrated our final night as a 5some. Dans off back home for his graduation and Chris is heading to the North Island as he has less time than us. We went for an Italian and then had a great night doing a bit of a bar crawl withe some scottish lasses from the YHA dorm (who had knicked my bed!) Was a great night and our final one in the
The last supperThe last supperThe last supper

The final Italian
aprty town that is Queenstown. Once such bar called Winnies is cool cus it did 'slippery nipples' like in Karns, and the roof opens every now and then when it gets too hot- the first time i thought it was just a draft until i looked up and saw the stars- crazy dayz!!! In one other such bar, Mike thought it funny to draw a tash on me using soot from a burned glass- oh the banter! I do believe, even though I didnt try, I made most of them crying in laughter! Didnt get a Fergburger like the previous night- these are possibly the hugest bugers ever and will challenge the Hadfield for burger top spot in my book!!

Was very sad to see Dan and Chris go. Both of them I feel I know their personalities inside out as Ive travelled with Mr Bull for almost 4months and it has been absolutely amazing. Words not to describe sir chris would be nice, happy and kind. However, the brother bull has proved himself to be a legend and a true gent. Hope the rest of your travels is as good mate! Daniel has left us after just 6
Raod blockageRaod blockageRaod blockage

On our way to Milford Sound, sheep blocked our way! Now we have experienced proper New Zealand!
weeks and I am sure he leaves us with fond memories. The fat piece has surely brightened up my time in south Australia and New Zealand- he literally has made it tonnes of fun- shame about the caterax though! So its down to the original 3, myself Will and Mike.

That day I managed to heave myself out of bed at 8am (having had about 4hrs sleep) to go skiing. Although on my lonesome I had a great time, as I could go as fast or slow as I wanted. Did a few jumps although it was a bit icy in patches. Its not like the alps where you can get lost as the ski area is very contained within certain perimeters. And it wasnt very busy so I didnt have to wait for any lifts at all- sweet!!!

The day after we left Queenstown. It has been an extraordinarily great few days here and ones which I wil cherish. I drove all the way to Milford Sound cus Mike was being a hypercondriact with a sore chin!! The drive was stunning as you go from valley to valley which changes like christoper's mood- from farm land and
Dolphin malarkayDolphin malarkayDolphin malarkay

Has it dol-finished yet? I hope not- cus its absolutely dol-fantastic!
lakes to snowpeaked mountains and avalanche risks. We booked ourselves onto a tour in the morning and proceeded to stuff ourselves with steak and beer in the local pub (very local!) and I won a pool comp!

The next day, yet again was one of those crazy ones!! An early start as the alarm didnt go off meant we rushed down to the yetti for our boat departure. Milfound Sound is situated on a Fjord which runs out into the sea, and is like a massive lake surrounded my humungous mountains. The views, yet again, are immeasurably stunning, even though the weather was crap. We saw wild seals and a dolphin, I got drenched my a waterfall which I didnt think the baot was going to go into whilst i was on the front deck, and best of all we saw dolphins. They swam infront of the boat as it zoomed across the water. If I had Go Go Gadget arms I could have touched them. They swam for ages as I took about a trillion photos of them from about 2 metres away. It was breath-taking and utterly sublime- i nearly cryed in happiness but I didnt to
Milfound SoundMilfound SoundMilfound Sound

BOOTY-FUL!!
save my dignity!!! My sister said this was the most beautiful place she has ever been to- and I can see why. If it had been sunny I may have agreed- but as it pisses it down almost everyday there I wouldnt like to live there! In the afternoon we again drove for yonks for Riverton, a small middle of nowhere town, not too far from the larger Invercargill for you map junkies!

We were the only ones staying at the hsotel (Globe Backpackers) but the owners were so friendly to us, giving us advice on where to go and stay and also offering us these fishy patties called paua (limpit). Apparently they are this fish meat that grow on shells naturally and cost an absolute packet- luckily they had just got some which they found on the coast!! The taste is a bit weird- like pattie stuff- but nice. It has loads of minerals in it so I was expecting to become Popeye overnight- didnt happen!!!

The following morning we were back in the car and drove through the Catlin highlands to Dunedin. Stopping on the way we managed to find a secluded beach which there would definitely be sealions. Wandering there we saw nothing but a massive beach with not a sole on it in English style drizly weather. Bugger. Then all of a sudden out pops a sealion from the sea to say hello. It was massive. What luck! I wandered closer to try and dont know what, but advancing too close meant i got showed a great pair of teeth before it went for me- I know they cant move that fast but christ it took me by surprise. Mike too almost pooed his pants in fear! I walked behind it (so becoming between the sealion and the sea) - it did not take kindly to me and turned and flapped at me like a small petulant child before showing his teeth again! I smiled back, then legged it! We decided that we had caused the creature too much stress so went on our way!! What great luck though?! Unlucky for Mr Sealion to see me in my orange coat though!!!

We have been in Dunedin for just over a day now and its quite a nice little town. Today we headed to the worlds seepest road (courtesy of Guiness Book of records)
The most southerly point of New ZealandThe most southerly point of New ZealandThe most southerly point of New Zealand

And it wasnt just my farts that made it this windy!!!
before visiting a castle (which looked more like a Scottish stately home). A nice day had by all! Tonight we're boozing it up at the local student bars, which should be fun!

Overall, I hope you have enjoyed my latest escapades and are marvelling at the fear factor I should not put myself through! Its been a fantastic week full of memorable activites. We have not reached nearly 2300kms in our little automobile. It has served us well but it looks more like a muddy tractor now.

Hope everyones good back home and those who have returned to Tesco for those freezing conditions of crap-unlucky!!!

Ciao for now

Jonny x




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The only castle in the Southern HemisphereThe only castle in the Southern Hemisphere
The only castle in the Southern Hemisphere

And its not even a castle- more like a country estate!


20th July 2006

Pussy
I can 't believe you didn't take them up on the second bungee jump for half price, LOSER. sounds like your loving yourself in NZ, seem to be taking a similar route to myself and visiting crappy houses in Dunedin. Hope the weather improves but I very much doubt it will. Bet you wished you had of been flying off to fiji next, or maybe you are, who knows!!!!
21st July 2006

I Won't Stop...
There you are you see. You all ridiculed my alarm but as soon as I take it away you sleep in and nearly miss your boat. I took that stuff you gave me over to yours sister's but no-one was in so I just posted it. Graduation went brilliantly. No slip ups. Keep living the dream boys. I'll be representing the massive over here. X
25th July 2006

Well, Well
When I put my mind to it, I can fathom almost anything out (even your blog site address). Never has a night in been so enjoyable. Even Mike's dad kept coming into the room to see what I was laughing at. Keep enjoying yourselves and take care of each other..........look forward to even more banter.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb