Dead seals, dead trees and a waterfall...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
August 27th 2006
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Invercargill to Dunedin

via the Catlins

Dead seal...Dead seal...Dead seal...

Actually alive, but seemed very dead
Sunday 27th August 2006
I overslept - I had ear plugs because of a snorer and missed my alarm. I awoke at 8am - the time we were due to leave and there was no way I was going to be stranded another day in Invercargill! I don't know how I managed it, but I made it onto the bus!

On our route to Dunedin we went via the Catlins, stopping at Curio Bay (good for dolphin spotting in the Summer), see the video here. Also we stopped at a beach with some 150 million old fossilized trees - you could see the details of the bark and twigs, etc. We also stopped for a walk around a lake.

On the way back out of the Catlins we hoped to see an 'crazy inventors gallery' - a eccentric old bloke who collects/makes 'inventions' and has opened his house to show them off. Unfortunately it was shut :-(

We went for another walk at Matai Falls, which was roaring impressively (see here), but I am getting a bit bored of waterfalls now.

We stopped off for a walk at Surat Bay and saw a sea lion - he
Very dead tree...Very dead tree...Very dead tree...

150 million years dead!
looked dead.

We also looked for penguins but saw none.

We finally pulled in to Dunedin, but unfortunately too late for me to do the Speights Brewery Tour :-( We stayed at a nice hotel called the Leviathan, I shared a twin room with a guy called Simon. I found out that night he was the one snoring all night at Invercargill...

My blog gets more 'upbeat' again I promise...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Nice waterfallNice waterfall
Nice waterfall

I'm a bit bored of them now...
Like strangers and rabbid dogs...Like strangers and rabbid dogs...
Like strangers and rabbid dogs...

never approach a dolphin!
Nice viewNice view
Nice view

but no dolphins this time of year


Tot: 0.421s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.2339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb