NZ 2016 – Day 2 - Christchurch – Part 1 – August 2016 - Punting on the Avon


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
August 29th 2016
Published: October 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NZ 2016 – Day 2 - Christchurch – Part 1 – August 2016 - Punting on the Avon


When I was at the i-Site the day before, I got a ticket for punting on the Avon. As they couldn't book me a seat, they said to get to the boat sheds before 10am to see if I could get an early seat.

Getting there

I left my hotel about 8:30 and started to make my way slowly towards to boat sheds.

I headed down Cashel Street,

Walked along the river,

And waited for the boatsheds to open.

Waiting

I got to the boatsheds about 9am and got myself onto the first punt of the day leaving a bit before 10. This meant I had about an hour to kill so I wandered around the area.

Punting

At 9:40 we headed off - there was me, and one other girl. Turns out she was also from Sydney and was doing a bus tour as well, but only the south island. We figured we would probably be on the same bus tour!

The cruise down the river went for over an hour, and was nice and leisurely. The punt driver (is that what they're called???) knew the river well and pointed things out to us along the way. It was only about 10 degrees on the river, so I'm glad I had my jacket.



Map

Attached is the map of where I walked and the punting


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb