NZ 2016 – Day 1 - Christchurch – Part 6 – August 2016


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
August 28th 2016
Published: October 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NZ 2016 – Day 1 - Christchurch – Part 6 – August 2016


Colombo Street

I walked along Colombo Street for a while. This area had been cordoned off when I was in Christchurch in 2013.

Cashel Street Re:START Mall

I headed towards the Cashel Street Re:START mall, but unfortunately, the shops were all shut as it was too late. I was actually hoping I would find somewhere for dinner, but no such luck.

There was also some cute street art.

When I was here in 2013 the container mall was bigger, as the new buildings that were almost finished hadn't even started being built.

"Re:START is a temporary mall built from shipping containers in Christchurch Central City, New Zealand. It was a response to the 22 February 2011 Christchurch earthquake, which destroyed most buildings in City Mall (Cashel and High Streets), and resulted in the central city being cordoned off from public access while buildings were being demolished. Initially considered a short-term response to the lack of permanent buildings, Re:START is popular with locals and tourists alike and remains open for business." Wikipedia

Bridge of Remembrance

Continuing along Cashel Street I came to the Bridge of Remembrance. I remembered this bridge from my visit in 2013.

"A stone bridge spanning the Avon River with a large ornate archway spanning the East end of the bridge. It is a War Memorial erected by the citizens of Christchurch to initially honour the sacrifice made during the 1914–1918 Great War, in 1923." Christchurch City Council

Avon River

The features along the Avon river were all lit up as well.

Dinner

I couldn't find anywhere that was open late on a Sunday night for dinner, so I figured I'd head back to the hotel and have dinner in their restaurant, which is something I really never do. Fortunately, I found an Indian restaurant across the road from the hotel, Mumbaiwala, and had a very nice dinner there. I would definitely recommend it to anyone that likes Indian street food. It has only recently opened and reminded me of an Indian restaurant I used to frequent when I was staying in Perth.

Photos of these sites in 2013

Attached are photos of these sites from my trip on 2013

Walking Map

Attached is the map of where I walked - This post covers points 14-15 & 1


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb