Inland Scenic Route 72 (part of)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 12th 2015
Published: September 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As mentioned in my previous blog on my route to Kaikoura, I passed the "Inland scenic route" and I mentioned I wanted to drive this, so today this is exactly what I did!

I started off in Russley, Christchurch (where I am currently based) and headed to Rangiora, this was roughly a 30minute drive on a motorway doing 100km. I stopped off on this route to fill the car up and then off I went to my next stop! I didn't use a satnav for this journey, just followed the brown road signs with the number 72 on!

The route then went through...CUST then OXFORD then over a river to Glentunnel. So far the views were amazing! To my right were farmers fields with sheep, cows and machinery whereas to my left were the amazing snowy mountains! I couldn't help but keep taking photos whilst driving to capture the mountains! It was a good job there were no other cars on the roads hey!

Finally I reached the bottom of Mount Hutts so I decided to stop and take some selfies at the next available stop with the mountains in the background!

The next place I stopped at was Rakala River (or I might have reached this before Mount Hutt I can't remember) and there were people on the water in a Jet Boat! It looked like so much fun! I will be heading back this was to definitely experience this! I took some photos and some selfies and headed back on the open road. There still wasn't another car in sight so I could luckily take photos and not worry about it too much!

I then decided to start heading back towards Christchurch as time was getting on a bit so I headed to Ashburton and then drove the 89km from there back to Christchurch!



All in all it was a very good drive, lots of beautiful views, expecially the snowy mountains, and I will complete the rest of this route another weekend to see the rest of the "inland scenic route 72".



Oh and I stopped for a cheeky Burger King on the way back too 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb