27th September 2015 - on top of the world!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
September 27th 2015
Published: September 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever felt like you were on top of the world (literally) or at the last point on earth? Well today that is exactly how I felt!

Today was the first time the sun had come out for about 2 weeks so I decided to scrap the plans to go to the cinema and take a road trip to see the Bays.

The route I had planned took around 5hours to drive which included going to and from Christchurch.



My first stop was Little River. This was a small beautiful village hidden between the mountains with amazing views of Lake Ellesmere! I just had to stop off and take a few photos!



The next stop was Little Akaloa, this is a secluded bay with not a soul or car in sight. It was crystal clear blue waters which seemed to look like the exit to the world! Just like on Pirates of the Caribbean!

I then made my way to Akaroa which was a very picturesque village with minimal things in, but just enough...Petrol station and somewhere to get some postcards! The strange thing was, the beach wasn't sand or pebbles, it was shells! Shells everywhere! Very different! I then carried onto my next stop which was Robinsons Bay, then Hickory Bay, then Long Bay. All of these were very beautiful small bays!

Suddenly the internet had run out on the mobile so I was left to find my way around on my own! I wanted to see some more beautiful beaches and crystal clear waters so I followed the road signs to Le Bons Bay and Okains Bay. These had to be the most scenic drives that I have completed since being here. I felt like I was driving on top and on the edge of the world! Nothing to the side of me except a steep plumet, stunning views and nothing infront except mountains! I passed a Traditional Mauri Museum but unfortunately it was closed so I stopped off at a nearby village store to get some Ready Salted Crisps and Dr Pepper!

At this point I had seen all of the Bays in the area so decided to head back to Christchurch on the scenic drive and take in the scenery.



At many points during this trip, I felt like I was on the edge/top of the world and with not a car in sight and the sound of the chirping birds, I felt I was in a world all of my own!



I recommend this drive to anyone who visits this area as these secluded beaches are definitely not one to miss of your list! I have now crossed off 9 things on my list of places to visit and I did this all in one day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb