"Kia Ora!" from Christchurch, New Zealand!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
July 16th 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Fiji to New Zealand

Nadi, Fiji to Coachman's Hostel, Christchurch, New Zealand

Additional maps: My tour of Chrsitchurch

Cathedral SquareCathedral SquareCathedral Square

Centre of Christchurch - great place to chill out, play giant chess, listen to street performers, buy from the markets or food stalls, or my favourite - people watch!
Sunday 16th July 2006
In the words of the Kaiser Chiefs: "Oh my god I can't believe it
I've never been this far away from home"...

I made it! I'm in New Zealand, and about as far as I can possible get from Yarnton...

I have an exciting feeling about being here - all the rest, Vegas, Hawaii and Fiji were just nice places (Maui being VERY nice) to visit on the way to somewhere - to here!

I got a transfer bus from the airport to the city centre. I started to feel very happy and almost 'at home'. Nice friendly people, driving on the left, roundabouts, familiar cars and architecture (although a lot of cold wooden houses here), trams, over-looked by hills, near the sea, a huge park, free buses, not too busy (traffic and people-wise) and a nice river running through the city (even have punting!). Think I might really like it here...

I checked in to Coachman's Hostel - very nice and clean, tidy and friendly, right next to the main square. I did some washing and went out to explore the city. I ended up visiting the Contemporary Art Gallery while my
River AvonRiver AvonRiver Avon

Runs through Christchurch. You can punt along it, or sit over looking the river in one of the many bars on Oxford Terrace
washing was doing. I got back and had a shower and was setting myself up (or down rather) for an early night when there was a knock at the door. It was someone from reception - there was a message for me to ring Philippa (we met on a the Sea Spray sailboat in Fiji) when I got in. She was out for a few beers in town with friends and wondered if I fancied going out for a drink.

I met them at the Speight’s Ale House on Bealy Avenue. I met her friends (very friendly) Kath, Hailey & Jamie. I tried out three different beers and kumara chips and then we moved on to a cool bar called Dux-de-Lux for pool and more beer. What a nice first night in NZ!

Monday 17th July 2006
It had been a while since I started traveling and it was time for a hair cut - $14 (roughly $3 to the pound) bargain! They even have a mini vacuum to remove the cut hairs from your neck/ears/etc.

Then went and found an internet place (Netopia on Gloucester Street) which was really good value and run by a very
Bridge of RemembranceBridge of RemembranceBridge of Remembrance

War memorial over the River Avon, with a modern building through the arch.
friendly Korean man. Backed up my photos and started updating my travel blog (it was very behind).

For evening meal I was going to have steak and I couldn't believe how cheap meat and fresh food is! Two fillet steaks for about three pounds!!!! It was REALLY tasty too.

Tuesday 18th July 2006
Spent most of the day doing blog updates and chores like food shopping.

Wednesday 19th July 2006
Went on a search to try roast lamb. Heard of a place called Oxford on Avon that was supposed to be good. As it happens it was good for value for money but not the best place to try roast lamb. So I had a huge plate of roast beef for $10 (yeah just over three pounds!)

I also went to the Bard on Avon pub to find Amber's (fantastic girl I met in Fiji who wrote loads of notes in my NZ book for me) cousin, but she wasn't in.

More chores - dropped off my sleeping bag to a dry cleaners - stank after getting wet in Fiji. And my favourite green 'travel trousers' to be repaired - another big rip...

Bumped in to Philippa in the square as she was walking home - it really is a small 'big' city - it is the second biggest in the country.

Back at the hostel it was the second series final of Lost. I had missed so many it didn't matter that three guys in the bar were talking to me about nuclear power etc, as I tried to watch. They were talking about how many countries send their nuclear waste off to other poorer countries to deal with - I suggested they send it to Fiji - apparently their pigs eat anything (see previous blogs)... They didn't find it funny...

Thursday 20th July 2006
Went on a tram (built in 1903) ride of the city. The old guy (Pete) driving and telling us about the city was very funny. He told us how NZ was the first country to give women the vote and they haven't shut up ever since! LOL He went on to say how successful women are in NZ society - holding many high positions in public and private sectors.

I also tried to get a NZ bank account - they pay for everything (even a pint) with EFTPOS cards (like our debit cards), but they get charged per transaction - to pay or get cash out. I can use my debit card at most places, but have to press the 'credit' option to enter my pin (it's not a credit card). To open an account I was told I would need a passport and letter from my hostel saying I am staying there - even if it was just for one night...

I also went to the visitor centre and booked my transport and accommodation for next week at Methven, near Mt.Hutt for five days of snowboarding...

That night I watched the 80s classic - 'The Lost Boys' - I so hate 80s fashion!

Friday 21st July 2006
Managed to open a Westpac bank account, BNZ and ANZ wouldn't have me as I hadn't been in NZ for six months. Also found out you have to pay $3.50 a month just to have an account! So different to UK banks!

Had a $6 meal (including starter of soup!) in the Asian Food Court off High Street - so many nice options to try there!

Picked up my travel trousers.... They've ruined them!!! :-( :-( They are just too short now... But gonna keep them and get two replicas made in Asia...LOL

Did a load more blogging and being a Friday went out for some food and drinks in Coyotes and then onto Dux-de-Lux, who had a live band on and then went upstairs to their chilled out bar.

Saturday 22nd July 2006
Went up to the Port Hills (they over-look the city) and had a fantastic view of the city, the coast and the mountains of the Southern Alps (covered in snow) in the background. This is also where they launch paragliders from. Then went round to the other side and over-looked Lyttleton harbour town and the Banks Peninsula (see the panorama here). There was no wind and so the water was so still it looked like a miniature village with the huge boats being like radio controlled boats you get at miniature villages.

Went round to the old gun emplacements and old lighthouse site - marvelous views. Also noticed how the old gun emplacements were free from graffiti and the smell of piss!! Different story if they were in the UK!

AT the end of
Looking down to Banks Peninsula from Port Hills Looking down to Banks Peninsula from Port Hills Looking down to Banks Peninsula from Port Hills

More info on the Port Hills here: http://www.summitroadsociety.org.nz
the Port Hills is the pretty little beach suburb called Sumner - had a walk down the beach. There were loads of dogs, made me think of how Thyme would love racing up and down it! There were also some really exclusive properties on the cliffs over-looking the beach.

Finally went on to Christchurch's other beach - New Brighton - long hard packed sand and no where near as many people - my new local kite beach! Walked up the pier to watch fisherman catch small sharks. Also impressed by the constant long surf breaks (see here) - watching surfers and kayak surfers - would be great alternative when there is no wind!

With all this on your doorstep, Christchurch definitely feels like it will be a great place to live!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 16; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb