Lyttelton and Gondola


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 14th 2010
Published: January 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Michelle and I get Wednesday's off together so we decided to catch a bus out to the small town of Lyttelton for the day. It's about a 20 minute bus ride out of the city and is on the other side of the "mountain" overlooking Christchurch. We did a walk around and went into some of the cool little shops and then stopped for a drink and a snack at a cool little coffee. It was getting hotter so after walking around a bit more and people watching we decided to grab an ice cream and head to the Christchurch Gondola.

Pictures

Because it was so hot and we only had flip flops on we decided to take the gondola up to the top. It's a pretty small gondola but it is pretty steep so we were a bit scared haha. But it was a cool ride up and from the top you can look down on Christchurch and see the coast up to Kaikoura on the one side and overlook Lyttelton harbour on the other. It's an amazing view from up there. They have a little info center up there with a cafe and shop.

They also have this cool little ride thing where you sit in this moving car and go through the history of Christchurch. It was pretty cool and a bit scary haha. We spent a bit of time in the shop having fun trying on all the wacky hats we could find. It was entertaining to say the least.

We headed back into town and then walked back to the hostel. On our way we saw a friendly orange cat who looked just like my little Benny did. So of course I had to pet him and try to take his picture. Aww I miss Ben.

Most of my time here is spent working and hanging out with all the staff. We seem to have lots going on all the time.

Vera, who is from Holland who I met when I first got here to New Zealand came through Christchurch so I met up with her one night and we went for dinner. And Ann, who is Canadian that I also met when I first got to NZ came through Christchurch as well so I booked her in to our hostel but I've been working since she got here so I haven't had much time to visit with her.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



14th January 2010

Lovely
Lovely tan, lovely smile, lovely scenery. Really great photos and I wish I were there in that nice warm weather. What is Punting?
14th January 2010

Love those Hats!
Hey Beanie--- some great scenery shots. My favs are the hat! You modeled them very well. Check out the one with the 'BEANIE and Scarfs' sign. Did you plan that? Sounds like you had a wonderful day. Good on ya!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb