Interview and Thanksgiving???


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
November 26th 2009
Published: December 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Was up early and on a bus back to Christchurch by 9:30am. We pulled in to Christchurch at 1:45pm. I strapped on all my bags and set off for The Old Country House for my bed for the night and the place for my job interview. Got myself checked in and found Carolyn in my room. This is a different Carolyn, I met her in Picton as well but she was just staying at Sequoia Lodge. She’s from Connecticut and worked at The Old Country House in the winter months here. Since it was American Thanksgiving she was having a big gathering with all the people there and invited me. I started helping her make apple and pumpkin pie before Tom came and got me for my interview.

It was a super easy interview and Tom is so nice and easy going. He told me that i’m a strong candidate so that made me happy. He should know by tomorrow who gets the job.

We had burgers done on the bbq, salad, a mexican dip and loads of other food for our American Thanksgiving. Two girls from Montana were also there who were so cute and funny, they made me laugh. They have been to Calgary and Banff a few times since they are so close.

After dinner we all had some pie with Hokey Pokey ice cream. Hokey Pokey is hard to explain, it’s a total New Zealand thing. It’s vanilla ice cream with these honeycomb kind of things in it, oh my god..SOOOO GOOOD!!!! MMM. A few people were trying pumpkin pie for the first time so it was neat to see what they think of it. Everyone liked it, though the texture was something some people didn’t like haha.

Advertisement



2nd December 2009

Nice to hear from you. We are off to Aaron's soon. I am going to the bank first to deposit money in your account. I wiil write more later tonight. Nice way to be greeted on your arrival in Christchurch again re dinner and good food and nice people. Love ya
3rd December 2009

It's always fun to see peoples' reactions to new cuisine...especially stuff that's only a tradition of really one country! mmmmmmm pumpkin pie :)

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb