Long Live the Tourist Trail


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 1st 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The tourist world of gimmicks and trinkets has ceased to engage my imagination long ago; the wayfaring multitudes that circulate on the globetrotting circuit, however, never cease to amaze.

Last night, a boyish throng of lanky Japanese visitors captured my attention. I paused to watch as each of the 15 youngsters went through an orderly procession of being individually photographed in front of a sculpture in the central square. Perhaps forging an artistic identity for himself, the digerati cameraman had positioned himself on the ground for an artistic slant on the photo shoot. A trusty apprentice came to his aid, transforming his forearms and hands into a human tripod to support the frail neck of his exemplar and buoy his head. Pausing to marvel at this masterful display of teamwork, I jumped in beside one unsuspecting youth to ensure this crew would return home with proof that they had met other chaps aswell.

More interesting still are the tourists who never did go home. On my morning stroll through Victoria Square, I was delighted to discover that the City of Christchurch was hosting breakfast in honour of Bike Week. Waiting in line amongst an incredible ensemble of colourful spandex and helmets, I struck up a conversation with a dashing British Bloke who "came over for a snowboarding holiday and never went back." As we shared words over a cup of freshly steamed coffee, he told me all about his Christchurch career as a road engineer for a company with a mind for sustainability. I was pleased to hear of businesses advocating and supporting cycle transport amongst its employees and the community.

Xiao Doh is undoubtedly another tourist who never returned home. He is the stout Chinese man who runs the internet gaming cafe for homeless tourists. Not only can you use the internet for the cheapest rates in town, but you can also stay overnight to do your online gaming if constraints of international time zones so require. I thought 9am would be a reasonable time to catch up on some blogging, but I had to catch a snooze on the steps outside until 10.15am. When the doors were unbolted for business, Xiao was padding about in barefeet and brushing his teeth. A man with a disheveled comb-over was putting in his contact lenses at a computer in the corner. By the looks of things, this mob had faced some fierce online foes the night before.

Taking note of this accomodation scheme, I calculated that they could spend 13 hours online for the same price as my bed at the backpackers. I wondered if they had paid for the hours they spent asleep at the online outlet... Eyeing the lone breakfast option of crummy cream biscuits for $2, I did not envy these guests. Still sharp with my own travel tactics, I had just feasted on a free continental breakfast at the Crowne Hotel complete with muffins, muesli, and an exotic variety of fruit juice called juanga.



Advertisement



28th February 2006

howdy
Howdy Sophie, Glad you are still having fun. Got to see your Mom. I really missed her. So good to have her back. Safe journey to you. Kay
1st March 2006

hi baby
Hi Sophie, how the heck are you, I've been wondering where in the world, (and I mean world) have you been. But now I guess I know!!! Sounds like your doing great as usual, what happened to med schoool??? I'm back in good ol N. Adams doing great, have never been happier in my life. Living the single studly life I have been dreaming of for years. No more crazy relationships with me moving across the country!!! How foolish of me!!!!! Love is truely blind!! Moving into a new shag pad April 1st. should work out very nice. You will have to let me know when you are coming back to this area so we can get together.. Love and kisses Sophie!! Paulie Gaudreau

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb