Happy New Year!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I'm a little late on my New Year's saluation, but better late then never. Things in New Zealand are going well. I celebrated my New Year's Eve by . . . WORKING, yep, the fun never stops folks. After I got off work at 2am I went to some bars with some friends and ended up getting home around 5.30 in the morning. However impressive this may seem, to many Kiwis a night that lasts till 5.30am is weak, many people stay out that late or later almost every night. On other news, my aunt Janet is coming to New Zealand at the end of January. At this time I will be leaving Christchurch to travel with her. I am anticipating traveling once again and I have a feeling I won't be missing Base Backpackers (where I've been staying) or Element (where I've been working) very much at all. Some of the people I will miss, of course, but I am more than ready to move on. After traveling around with Janet I am planning on heading home--yes, home as in Oregon. I will be leaving New Zealand sometime in March (haven't decided when yet). I would like to go to Fiji or Austrailia, but I have a feeling I won't have enough money and I don't want to go by myself, so I will probably just head home (I know, sometimes I can be really boring). Although I like New Zealand, I feel that I have learned about myself what I needed to know and my Nana was right in saying that I would never be able to live far from home because I am too close to family to stay away. Miss you all, hope everyone had a great New Year's!

Advertisement



7th January 2006

There's no place like home
Hey! I know you've had a great experience yet are ready to come home. Take in all you can the next month and enjoy your travels with Janet. Love ya lots, Mom
9th January 2006

Happy New Year Lisa!!
Hi Lisa. Happy New Year! Jackson and I stayed at your parent's home last weekend. We had fun. Jack played in a tennis tournament at Salishan. Lost his first match and was very upset, but returned to win consolation. He had a great time in Tucson at the National tournament as the weather was much nice than here--70-75 degrees. It's been raining here for weeks! I hate it so much. Glad you are coming home. Have fun traveling w/Janet and enjoy the sun. Looking forward to seeing you and hearing about your travels when you get back. Love, Ann
9th January 2006

Looking forward to seeing you soon
Lisa, You have done what you wanted to do and can feel proud of your efforts. Just spoke with a client of mine who went to NZ for a year in October and is feeling about the same as you. His name is Fris Pendleton. Not sure if you have run into him or not, but I guess he is finding the NZers not as friendly as anticipated. At any rate, we look forward to seeing you in a few months, Take care, Kathy

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb