Christmas time is here


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
December 24th 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM NEW ZEALAND!!! I hope everyone is having a brilliant December. I have not written in a long while because I have been busy working----trust me, this is a very good thing. I am liking my job at Element, there is the usual gossip that comes with all jobs and some co-workers get on my nerves, but overall I have a good time at work and get free beer at the end of each shift 😊 It is strange to me that it is Christmas because I have not been bombarded by all of the usual commericalism that surrounds the season. Very few places here decorate for the season and seeing as I rarely watch TV I haven't been seeing as much of Christmas as I am used to. Another oddity of having Christmas in the southern hemisphere is the warm weather, not that it has been incredibly hot in Christchurch (today was actually the first nice day all week), but it is not cold and I can walk outside without a coat on . . . it's just a bit odd. For Christmas day I am working in the morning and then going to a BBQ that the hostel where I am staying is putting on. It should be fun, but it will be different to have Christmas away from family and friends. Well, that is all for now. Not the most exciting entry I know, but other than working I haven't been up to much. I am hoping to post more often cause I notice the more I post the more responses I recieve and messages always make me happy (hint hint nudge nudge wink wink). Love and miss you all!

Advertisement



24th December 2005

Happy Holidays
Thinking of you Lisa. Its hot here too, near 60 degrees. It seems odd. No snow for skiing. Albuquerque is setting a world's record tonight for luminarias. We're lighting 3 million all over town. It is so lovely. The park that is 1 block away will be covered. We all decorate our walkways and walls with luminarias. Elliott will be with his Dad tonight. Brian and family are in Colorado. I will be solo, yet have 2 parties to attend. Love you dear! Pamela
24th December 2005

Merry Christmas from Michigan!!!
24th December 2005

Merry Christman
Merry Christmas! I miss you and send all my love, Papa
25th December 2005

Christmas
sleeze! Merry Christmas, Im glad you are working hard and drinking beer. I miss you... Merry Merry! mirn
26th December 2005

Merry Christmas from the Elgins
Your Mum gave me your blog number and I have been following your journey. I still can't believe you are on your own and doing this!!! Very independent and grown up! I am not sure I would have been able to do it!!! I am envious of your travels. One of these days we will have to get to New Zealand. I was in Australia in the end of January once and it is odd to have such warm weatherat that time of year!! I hope you enjoy the warm oceans!!! Have a hapy New Year and enjoy the rest of your stay. KAthy Elgin
27th December 2005

Merry Christmas
Lisa, Merry Christmas! Once again we missed you at our family gathering on Christmas Day. It was good to see Brian, Tara and kids as well as your parents and brother. We had a fabulous dinner--a huge turkey and lots of mashed potatoes and dressing. I made 1 and 1/2 green bean dishes so that people (like your brother) could have seconds. The weather was bad as it has been warm, rainy and dark every day for the past 2 weeks (well, almost). Enjoy the sun. I am actually relieved that Christmas is over and we can get back to normalcy. The commericalism is so crazy here during the holidays that it gets to be too much. I watched an interesting movie last night that I have wanted to see--Bowling for Columbine. I know that this isn't your typical Christmas movie, but I was in the mood to see/learn something about society in the U.S. What's it like there? Are things really different? Sounds like you are having a great time and enjoying your place of work. Its fun to hear from you. The boys are doing well. Jackson is going to Tucson on Friday for a National Tennis tournament with 3 other players and coach from the club. I would like to go with him, but have to work. Love, Ann
30th December 2005

I reqalize you haven't been here for Christmas because we have a surplus of tangerines. I think of you every time I take another one. Eveerybody missed you for Xmas. Hope you are having a good time down in Quiwi land. It is so beautiful there. Happy new year! G Paw and G Ma
31st December 2005

Tangerines
I thought of you every time I ate a tangerine. We had a lot left over because you weren't here and so I think of you often. Hope you are having a good time G-Pa

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb