A bittersweet parting


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christchurch CathedralChristchurch CathedralChristchurch Cathedral

Has a wonderful cathedral choir and lovely stained glass inside
Well, dear friends, here is my last blog from Aotearoa... The Land of the Long White Cloud... New Zealand... (aka heaven on earth). I fly to Australia tomorrow. Just 12 hours left of NZ. Aaahhh...if only all good things could last forever. I am utterly sick at heart to be leaving this wonderful place and have been struggling for at least 2 weeks now not to cry every day at the thought of going. I will be leaving a big part of my heart here and will just have to return to claim it. There is no doubt in my mind that I will be back here, soon. I just wish that I could bring you all here and show you how deliciously beautiful it is. Words can't do it justice, and the pictures can't capture it.

Everyone has been asking me "what's the best bit", "what did you love the most", "what were the highlights" and you know, the truth is - the whole thing has been a highlight and I love it ALL the best. Every place I have been something special has happened and I have some striking and unique memory, whether it is of an exciting
The town crier! The town crier! The town crier!

A Christchurch institution. He announces news about events/happenings in the city that week.
adventure, a lovely person or the amazing scenery. How is one supposed to choose?

So if you are wondering what it is I love so much about it, here are a few things...

I love the people. They are truly the most genuine I have ever met, as a nation. When they say something, they mean it, and they call a spade a spade. If they say "I'll give you a lift" they don't expect to be subjected to that very English 2 minute tirade of "Oh no, really, I couldn't. I don't want to inconvenience you. It's sure to be out of your way etc etc etc" before finally accepting the lift. They expect you to get right in, smile and talk to them on the journey. A simple thanks at the end is sufficient. I have found Kiwis to be so warm, so kind and so friendly. It's a breath of fresh, uncynical air to a jaded soul to come here. It reminds you of the basic goodness and honesty of people and as a result, the whole country feels so safe and laid back. You can leave your bag lying around in public and no
Punting on the riverPunting on the riverPunting on the river

Just like Oxford. You can punt on the River Avon which is very pretty!
one snatches it. You can walk the streets at night and don't expect to be attacked. You can speak to strangers and have no fear that they are rapists/axe murderers/child molesters/general freaks.

I love the stunning landscape. NZ is a country of huge contrasts. It has everything from glaciers to volcanos. Rolling green hills. Snow capped mountains. Golden sandy beaches with sparkling turquoise ocean. You are never bored just looking out of the window because it is constantly changing. Sometimes it is rugged and stark and harsh. Sometimes it is soft and green and lush. Sometimes it is serene, calm and so tranquil that it feels like it must in heaven. But sometimes it is just wild, windy and fun (maybe heaven's like that too? who knows?)

I love the fact that it is so free. Everything here is so unrestricted. There are no signs warning you and controlling you. I didn't realise till I came here how restrictive the UK is. Everywhere you go at home, there are signs warning you, instructing you, directing you. There are rules and regulations with everything. I have become a rebel now!! I don't know how I will handle being corralled
The Christchurch tramThe Christchurch tramThe Christchurch tram

This runs around the town all day long and only adds to the "Englishness" of the city!
into lines at the bank (even when there is no one waiting), or instructed to "wait here until called", "do not enter" etc etc. In NZ you are allowed to take personal responsibility for your own life and your own safety. Despite it's very close ties to the UK, it is not like our nanny state. It is so refreshing to be free from red tape hassles!

I love the fact that it feels provincial! It is like being in some small, un populated, undiscovered corner of England, where you can still get Twinings English Breakfast Tea, Cadbury's Chocolate, Marmite, but you don't get the crowds, the pollution, the traffic, the noise, the red tape or the cynicism (yes, I am afraid I do now think that the UK is cynical). NZ has a charm that you can occasionally find in small villages in the UK, but unlike home, it is everywhere. It is a modern, vibrant country, that has embraced so much that is good from the UK and around the world, but has just about managed to avoid the unpleasant aspects.

Sorry...I don't meant to go on and on. I just needed to get some of
Playing the pianoPlaying the pianoPlaying the piano

In the garden of The Giants House, Akaroa
that out of my system. Probably my opinions are very ignorant as they are based on only 4 months of experience. If I had to live here, it wouldn't be quite so rosy and things would grate on me after a while I know. But I am so glad to have enjoyed myself so much here. I feel completely refreshed and like a new person! 😊

Anyway, just to fill you in a tiny bit on what I have been doing in my last few weeks. My back has been a problem and is not yet better. However, it is a lot better than it was. So I spent about a week in Christchurch, and got somewhat bored without much to do! But I did explore the city extensively. It is a lovely city. My favourite in NZ, and if I moved over here, is where I would move to. Everyone calls it the "English" city and it certainly is that. They have a town crier, a river that you can punt along, lots of lovely old "Gothic style" buildings, and everywhere is called something English. It was very odd going to Sydenham and Beckenham! They have some gorgeous
Place des AmiesPlace des AmiesPlace des Amies

In the garden of The Giants House
botanical gardens, and lots of parks and green spaces and fountains, so it all feels very light and bright. I was staying in a lovely hostel for girls only which has been so friendly and relaxing. I have met loads of lovely people here.

One of my best days was a trip I took to a Peninsula just outside Christchurch, called Akaroa. It is a very quaint little town, that was originally a French settlement. So lots of the streets are called Rue this and Boulevard that and there is a definitely French flavour to the shops and cafes. It was very quiet and relaxing. One of the "attractions" of the town is a house called Linton - The Giants House. It was so named because a little girl came there and looked up at the house perched on the hill and said that it was so big that a giant must live there! Currently, an artist called Josie Martin lives there. And she has filled the garden with the most incredible huge sculptures that are all mosaicked (sp?). it is like a fairy garden. The whole place is a riot of colour from the flowers and the sculptures and round every corner there is some new surprise or beautiful view. I stayed for ages there taking pictures. It felt like walking through a storybook.

Eventually my osteopath "released me" to go exploring further afield that just Christchurch. I went down south to a place called Wanaka, which is close to Queenstown, and very similar, although a little smaller and quieter. I didn't do much there apart from go for a few walks, one to the top of Mt Iron. It was quite a climb, but so worth it for the 360 degree views of the mountains all around. The journey down to Wanaka was wonderful though, as we passed so much lovely scenery, including Lake Tekapo and Lake Pukaki, which were both soooo gorgeous.

From Wanaka I then went to the Mt Cook National Park, which was INCREDIBLE. I had such a fantastic few days there. It is utterly breathtaking. Mt Cook is the highest mountain in NZ, and so it, and the other mountains around, always have snow capped peaks. There are some wonderful walks through the valley and occasionally, you are lucky enough to hear a rumble, like thunder, which is the sound of huge chunks of snow/ice falling off the mountains. There are also lots of glaciers in the Mt Cook National Park. Did you know that NZ has the only glaciers in the southern hemisphere? They are AMAZING!! Whilst staying around Mt Cook, I went on a boat trip that took you right up to the Tasman Glacier, and it was such a awesome experience. We could literally touch the ice, and taste it and we saw this huge chunk of blue ice that has just broken off only an hour before which was amazingly lucky. It was quite an experience and something I will never forget.

Well...I guess I should try to finish here, before you all get bored. My next blog entry will come from Australia! I am sure that will be a whole new adventure. My blog entries may be fewer and further between, however, as I am going to be rushing a lot more in Oz and so won't have the leisure to sit and write blogs all day! But I will do my best.

I miss you all TERRIBLY. It feels like sooooo long since I saw you all, and I wish I could pop
Lake TekapoLake TekapoLake Tekapo

Still as a mirror and as clear as crystal.
home for a weekend! But I guess I'll be home all too soon. I think of you all every day. I doubt you are thinking of me so often! Please email me very soon!!!

With love
Elanor xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Lake PukakiLake Pukaki
Lake Pukaki

A beautiful glacial lake overlooked by Mt Cook. It's a stunning ice glue colour and so still it reflects all the clouds and hills around.
On top of Mt IronOn top of Mt Iron
On top of Mt Iron

With Wanaka and Lake Wanaka behind me
Trying some glacierTrying some glacier
Trying some glacier

It tasted like nothing! Pure! (excuse the dreadful pic of me though!)


11th March 2007

gosh!!!
yes gosh sweetheart,you got very lyrical in this blog, I dont think your going to be a uk girl for long when you return, however S. Africa on your way home should make you feel even the uk is free.you,ll be really curtailed over there!! Cape town with your chums [ forgot names again] will be fun Im sure,butas a whole a completly different kettle of dogs, not very safe at all!! will be thinking of you tonight as you sadly fly out, . You absolutly must wach your back with that back pack!! please be super cautious....... Also it will be much hotter ,so remain unflustered or you will be even hotter, I know these things. Be cool darling . Wales is cold and I am flusered having said all that... cows in the garden again!!!!!!!! Love you millions , take big care xxxxxxx
11th March 2007

Wow, looks fabulous!
Wow, I can't believe how beautiful it is! My next big project in life is now to visit Australia and New Zealand. I'm sure Werner will also be able to recognize every single mountain that featured in LOTR... Just want to add that I know what you mean with the UK being a nanny state. Every time I got back from travelling it would take me a few days to get used to being told what way to look when waiting to cross a road, to watch out when coming to the end of a travellator, to mind the closing doors of the elevator... :-) Looking forward to seeing you soon!
11th March 2007

:)
i love u, ur so cute.........
13th March 2007

Still here!
I can't believe you are only now just going! Wow! You must have done SO much in your time here and seen far more than I have in the two years I've been here (but then I have been otherwise occupied!) Yes, NZ certainly captures your heart. Hope Aussie is just as special for you. Take care and hope to hear from you again (maybe see you again??!!) soon.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb