Abel Tasman National Park


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I took a water taxi to Abel Tasman National Park, this is the easiest way of accessing it. We left Kaiteriteri at around 9am and the tour took us along the coast dropping people off at the various spots they had chosen to walk. En-route we saw the Split Apple stone, some seals and cub seals on the rocks of Adella Island. I was dropped off at Torrent Beach for a two and a half hour walk back to Medlands Bay. The walk mostly through the bush, I had to go over one of those swing bridges which I don't particularly like but I am getting used to them now. It's a bit disconcerting when they put notices to say only five people allowed on the bridge at any one time!!! Then you look at the bridge and there are bits of wood broken off etc, we are such sissy's aren't we!!!! I managed the walk it in just over two hours but I didn't rush stopping to take photos from time to time and stopping for a lunch break. The boat picked us up at 3.15pm and on the way back such a bonus a pod of dolphins decided to join us playing just in front of the bow. It was great watching them, I didn't get the camera out quickly enough as I was reading at the time they appeared and its so difficult to catch them as they move so quickly so decided just to enjoy them. Sun shone all day the weather has been fantastic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb