Journal Day 62 - Mission Bay.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
April 8th 2011
Published: April 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at Mission bay to a really beautiful Sunrise. Not a cloud in the sky.
Had a Run on beach to loosen up the ribs a bit and had a Swim in sea.
A School rugby team started training on the beach. Up from Wellington for tournament in Auckland. Got talking to teachers. One was a surfer originally from Raglan. Advised me about where else I should go for the best surf on the north island, and how I should explore your around the islands in the van.

Into Auckland to use Internet.
Spent afternoon walking around bits of Auckland I hadn't seen yet like Ponsonby, a pleasant, up-Market area probably full of young professionals.

Went to my old rest, the Jucy hostel to see of I could blag a shower and bit of Wi-fi. When I was speaking to a guy at the counter a woman walked out and said to the guy 'no worries, he stayed here, he's Andrew McManus from Aaargmahh.' good memory on her.
When into the kitchen/lounge to sneak a cup of coffee.
A couple were laying out a bunch of things on the table to leave for others to use as they were to be flying home tomorrow. Gas, matches, sunscreen, clothes pegs etc.
They were from Israel enjoying a 5 month holiday trekking and camping around new zealand after doing their military service. Got talking to them about israel and realised that to make friends instantly with Jewish Israelis I simply have to show them the Hamsa I got in Jerusalem dangling from my trousers!
They were interested in my experiences in their country and they gave me all the stuff. Useful for the campervan.

Back out to carpark on the edge of Mission Bay for kip.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb