No exciting adventures this week.....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Whangarei
November 25th 2005
Published: November 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I spent last weekend in Whangareri. It's hard to pronounce all the cities here right because in the Maori language the WH is pronounced F, so it's taking a bit getting used to. I met up with my old roommate Yoko at the local YHA hostel and we talked and she told me of her adventures seeing the local glow worms the night before. The hostel manager John (which I forgot to get pictures of, oooops!) spoke with me for a while and then proceeded to give me my first taste of Scrumpys Ciders ( I know Dad knows what Scrumpys is!). This cider has 8.3% in it, so anyone who's close to being a lightweight could probably only manager a couple, and hence why they seems to only sell it in 4 packs. I met a nice guy from England that is riding his bike around NZ, man talk about having to be in good shape, especially because of the landscape. We all had a plan to explore and see the glowworms with the help and guidance of John, and then hit the local Irish Pub in town afterwards. Well, due to Scrumpy, we all went to bed around 10pm, John confessed he passed out at 8pm. Being a Saturday/Sunday night, the next Rugby match for the All Blacks was being shown on SkyTV at 3am. I decided to wake up at go downstairs to Johns along with a couple of people from England also to watch it. NZ played a good game and came out on top of England by only 4 points. Tomorrow Michaela (the weekend manager here in KeriKeri) and I are watching NZ play Scotland. (sorry Jo, but they're gonna kick some Scottish butt!) After the game I went back to bed until 9, woke up and got ready for another busy day. I found a place to buy my foam mattresses for the back of the van, so I bought them and headed out of town back to KeriKeri for a BBQ at Rachael's house. She lives right on the beach, and you have to have a code to access the road which brings you down there. We went swimming, the water was pretty okay once you got used to it. The cool thing was that there were so many stingrays in the water with us. They still kind of creep me out, even though I've been swimming with them before. I think it was because I didn't have a mask and snorkel with me at the time. We had a good time and drank some home made Pina Coladas, and I think I really overdid it on eating so much meat, because my stomach was making some interesting noises after I got eating Chicken, Beef and Pork. Yesterday I went to the local wood provider here and bought the needed products for building my bed frame in the back of the van. I think Jim, Rachael's boyfriend is going to build it for me tomorrow. I'm very excited because all my van smells of is plywood right now, and I really just want it to be over and done with. Besides that, work is going well. I'm pretty tired after working a full day, so I mainly chill out talking with people, watching some TV, or reading.
Next weekend, my bosses Tom and Julia may take us out on the boat for a little Christmas Party. They usually take the workers to an island and have a nice lunch there. I feel so grateful to have such a great job, with such nice people. I really couldn't ask for more. So everyone is getting snow now eh? Well, just an update on the weather if you're not catching it on the weather network. It's pretty much about 20 here in Northland everyday, so no complaints there. Today I'm going to buy some wood scraps for the reinforcements of the frame and some good wood screws since I couldn't find any real decent ones where I bought.
my wood. I hope everyone has gotten their Christmas shopping done, because I certainly wouldn't want to be around any mall at this time of year! Remember only 1 month till Christmas!!!!!! 've pretty much decided that I'm sticking around here until after Christmas, and then heading South past Auckland to Rotorua to finally do some Hobbit Finding and Orc Hunting.

Advertisement



25th November 2005

Long time since last entry!
Sounds like a great relaxing time. Beach and BBQ, watching rugby, drinking ciders, Mmm Mmm Good. Seriously sounds like a blast. ;)
26th November 2005

No snow in SC!!
Hi Tara! Dad is down here for the long weekend/Thanksgiving holiday. Lots of turkey and good food. We have no snow here...only 72 degree weather...Dad is thrilled with the temps. We miss you....were talking about how great it would be to visit you in the spring? Just a thought! Love ya lots! Nicole and Dad XOXOX (He laughed at the Scrumpys comment...then turned green reliving the incident that he apparently told you about!) Hee Hee!
26th November 2005

Updates are being passed on
Hi Tara, Just a note to say hi and that I am printing out your Blogs for Jenne. We had a huge snow storm here Thursday and still have 8 in of loose on the ground. It was -9o C and on monday it should be +12oC. Needless to say everyone up here is sick. FYI my son Mike is coming to Australia for 6 months to work at outdoor wilderness camps - He will be 2 hrs from Sydney for the first camp and then go on to two others. Are you staying strictly in NZ? Enjoy yourself and enjoy your warm holiday weather! ~Carol

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb