Whangarei Area


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Whangarei
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Angela is so sweet! It was pouring rain again so I couldn't go and see the work on the flood gates or check on the cattle (I came between milking and calving seasons, oops!), so she drove me down to see the Whangarei Falls, and kauri trees, and Parua Bay. I guess I am staying outside Parua Bay Village, but that isn't an option with this blog so Whangarei is close enough at 30 minutes away!

I took some great pictures, but I am having trouble uploading them from the computer at the hostel it keeps crashing. I will work on it at Sarah's.

We also explored the shops looking for a beanie. We found ones made from possum fur (they are pests here) and fancy merino wool. After a HUGE boal of seafood choweder with Foccoccia (SP?) bread, we headed to The Warehouse. Think WalMart and CostCo put together. And I found a beanie! Y'all will laugh, it is pink and fuscia but I love that is mostly matches my coat.

Angela has been spoiling me with homemade meals, and we had "tea" (dinner) with Russell's Mom, and watched the snow storms slam the South Island. I may take them up on their offer to host me at the end of my stay if the weather stays crazy! I can't go to Milford Sound if the road is closed!

The news here is much less crazy. They did a funny piece on a 100 year old woman who still drives an old Austin. And the people look normal on the commercials...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb