All Good Things Come To Those Who Wait!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
October 1st 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I'm not actually in Wellington yet (Tuesday my good people, not long now!), but I couldn't bear to put Blenheim again as the location so I've cheated and jumped forward a couple of days instead!!!

So, how has this week been? Well, Saturday, me and Tanja went out in Nelson, not great, not truly awful! We ate a Maccy D's and went home! The nightlife here is really not all that!!

Sunday, we drove back to Blenheim, and the most exciting thing about that was that I almost wet myself in the van! I swear, I've never needed a wee so badly in my WHOLE life!! (as you can tell, its been a slow week!).

Monday, we started the search for work, and unfortunately there's nothing, zilchio, not a sausage! So Monday we did nothing I don't think, Tuesday again, nothing, I don't think we even left the hostel, ooh I went for a run, yey!!

Wednesday was Clemens' birthday and so me and Tanja ventured into town to buy birthday supplies! Tanja made these little toast things that were really really tasty, and I made a birthday cake with 26 candles! The only downside to this, was that I also put icing sugar on the top of the cake, and so when he blew the candles out, icing sugar covered the surrounding area, including me! Well done Yates! Yet again we can all marvel at the common sense I seem to be occasionally lacking! We also bought annoying clapper things, and these little whistles, that were so high pitched, the sheep dogs from the neighboring hills were coming to join in! For presents, Clemens got a purple plastic guitar and a squidgy star that flashes blue and red lights, all courtesy of the two dollar shop, lucky boy!!

Thursday, Tanja and I borrowed some bikes from the hostel, and went for a cheap lunch at one of the vineyards in the surrounding area to ward off our hangovers! This was in theory a great idea, until I realised that the gears on my bike didn't work, and so I had to peddle continuously to get up any pace! I was knackered by the time we got there, and my poor hungover body didn't know what had hit it! Oops, shan't be doing that again in a hurry!

Friday, me and Tanja got the bus tour of the local vineyards, woo hoo!! I was in my element! The white wines from this area are beautiful even the chardonnays which I don't usually like! We had soooo much fun! Our driver was called Gerry, who was a little randy for someone with so much grey hair, but very sweet, and we were accompanied by a kiwi mum, dad, their son and his bride to be! They turned out to be a group of well connected people (the bride to be's family used to own government house, oo er!! And the dad used to be a world renowned skier, apparently!), but they had started the tour at 11am, and so were pretty much wasted when we got there at 1pm! I bought one bottle of wine, a lovely dry reisling, that I've decided to save for when Siobhan and Linc are in the Uk at Christmas (that's if it manages to get home in one piece!).

By the time we got back at about 5pm, after a visit to the schnapps place as well, we were very happy, and this was made even better by the arrival of Pablo after his few days holiday! Clemens and Johan had already decided on a BBQ, so loads of food and alcohol and some badly played pool later, we all traipsed into town! I don't know why I still believe that this is a good idea, as its always predictably a let down, but there were some definite highlights of the evening and we all had lots of fun anyway!!

Saturday ooh, the hangovers were running strong! We had thought about doing a walk called the Queen Charlotte trek, but that clearly wasn't happening, and the furthest we made it was the local supermarket for supplies! Never mind though, was still a good day, and today its pissing it down so we're all just mooching and trying not to spend any money or drink!
Blenheim is boring anyway, but even more so when its raining, but I'm really going to miss all of my friends when I leave on Tuesday. I was meant to be leaving on Monday, but then yesterday, during a late afternoon snooze, en mass I might add, I realised that I've not actually arranged anything for when I leave, and so I've put it back to Tuesday now! But that's Ok, I get more time with everyone, and they get chance to be annoyed by me for a little longer! Not sure if I've told you all this but I leave for Los Angeles on the 12th October, and then I arrive in England on the 19th! I'm getting an internal flight to Manchester and Papa's picking me up! So when I've completed my last flight, I'll text you all to let you know that I've arrived safe and sound and that I haven't been blown up! My phone might not work in the states, or though I think it does, so if you can't get hold of me that's why, although I should be on email! I can't believe I'm going to be home in 19 days!! I'm actually a little scared, I just can't imagine it after all this time to be back from where I started from, I find it really inconceivable!! But I'm also really excited to see everyone, I can't wait!! Aagghh I'm like a big jumble of emotions, its really weird (this is the time to really pity my friends here, as they're bearing the brunt of it!!).

Anyway, I'm going to go as I'm smidge peckish, and so need to prepare a light snack!!

Love you all, see you soon!!

Julie

xxxx

Advertisement



1st October 2006

I cannot believe that your lying on your blog.......saving wine!!!!!! Yates please.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb