Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 15th 2015
Published: July 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I first learned that Wellington is the capital of New Zealand on a list of the best capital cities in the world. I got there in the late afternoon and I only had to be there for an hour before, at least in respect to the scenery, I was sold.

I stayed at the YHA (Better for families and groups, who take over the place, than for independent travellers) and saw that there was a park right nearby named Alexandria. I walked up steep streets and then a steep trail to get somewhere I could run. Eventually a labyrinth of trails leads to the top of Mt. Victoria (which is as much of an exaggeration as Mt. Washington in Pittsburgh). The dirt trails are especially for mountain bikes but they were terrific to run. They're covered mainly with pine trees and there are glimpses of the city throughout.

The top of Mt. Victoria provides 360 degree views of the city and the sea. While there's no skyline to speak of, the architecture fits the topography well and the buildings seem to nestle in the surrounding trees. It was so spectacular that I walked up there again the next day to get some photos.

There are heaps of great pubs, cafes, and restaurants in the city center and everything I ate and drank there was worth it.

The wind and the rain the next day drove me to Te Papa, the popular and free National Museum that was only a few blocks from my hostel. The World War I exhibit has uncannily realistic giant statues of Kiwis in action poses. The exhibit was impressive but it was really crowded (it was during a school break) and failed to fully get across the pointless destruction of the war... the tone celebrated the Kiwi and Maoiri bravery and sense of adventure, which was odd for that war in particular. The societal history on the fourth floor was good as well.

I easily could have spent more time in Wellington but I had to move on, so the following day I took the ferry from Wellington to Picton, which is in the South Island. The trip was comfortable and the views were gorgeous. Once in Picton I walked to route 1 and found a couple of rides south to Kaikora.

There are more photos below.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Expensive Beers in VictoriaExpensive Beers in Victoria
Expensive Beers in Victoria

I hung out with Harry from Hawaii for a few days and he was good enough to drive me from Taupo to Wellington.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb