Happiness and Alcohol Abuse


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
January 28th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had been in Wellington for a seven days. After my first nights sleep, I felt like a million bucks again. I didn't realize how tired and run down I had become over the last few weeks. The 60 hour weeks in a sticky kitchen had been dragging me down. My first full day in Welly I woke up and realized the bags under my eyes had lessened. I now looked and felt younger. I even think I started acting more child like (can I get more childish?).

As my good friends here in Welly are Irish and English, which means that they enjoy some drinks. So my time in Welly has bee booze fueled. House parties, sangria at El Horno, drinks at the hostel and even karaoke nights.
At one point I was even considering changing my flight to Sydney so I could stay to enjoy the ACDC concert. Phil and Aidan were both going and gave me a bit of encouragement to stay, but in the end I decided against it.

I was welcomed to Welly with rain and clouds, which lasted 5 days. But the sun did come out for my last two days of Wellington. And Wellington is more beautiful with blue skies and sunshine.

There were some random times like the stellar performances that we all did at the karaoke, and even being chased down Cuba Street by angry lesbians. I even visited the market, picked up some ingredients and cooked my friends a proper Sunday lamb dinner. Wellington was another great time with some great people. I will always remember Wellington as times of happiness and alcohol abuse.

I got on the bus in the beautiful sunshine and felt somewhere between super excited and super sad. The contrast of emotions that I still have not learned to deal with yet. Happy for new adventures and sad to see everything else get left behind. Peace out New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb