From Taupo to Waitomo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WanganuiWanganuiWanganui

View from the Water Tower
Hey everybody,
This entry had already been written in full length at the library (free internet) but for some stupid reason was deleted and unable to be retrieved. So excuse me if I can't be bothered to elaborate on my tellings in the same fashion as previously.
As previously stated I ventured to Napier to potentially go and see the Commodores and Cape Kidnapper. I arrived late and in my search of a hostel couldn't help but notice a big sign saying: "Beds from 19$ per Night, FREE Super Fast 24Hour Internet! and guitar!!!" Well thinks I, that sounds rather good, doesn't it. So off I go, booking a room etc.
Now let me share two pieces of advice with you:
1.There is always a reason for why something is cheap. Either there is an abundance of it (which there wasn't) or it sucks
2. Avoid anything advertised with more than one exclemation mark

The room was damp, smelt like a bus full of soggy boys returning from a rugby game after a two hour journey, didn't supply any bed linen and had no heater. In a room of 8 people, not having a heater shouldn't be too much of
The Water TowerThe Water TowerThe Water Tower

Metal construction covering the top of the Water Tower
a problem, the body heat naturally warming up the room. However! Insulation is unheard of in some parts of this country. So any sort of warmth went right out of the windows, roof and 3cm Gap underneath the door.
Essentialy I got what I payed for. A barely defrosted Pizza (the oven didn't work), a guitar missing a string and a machine head and a terrible night of sleep. After then finding out about the birds having flown away to Australia (wrong season) I decided to get out of there at the speed of a thousand gazelles to go to the great town of Wanganui.

The DOC (Departyment of Conservation), which takes care of all walking paths in NZ, classes kayaking down the Wanganui river as one of the 10 "Great Walks". Havinbg half informed myself on where these trips may be undertaken from (Wanganui Town apparantly) off I go, never doubting or double checking it, because it seemed to make a lot of sense to me to have a trip on a river named Wanganui depart from a town called teh same. As it turns out this is not the case. After making enquiries at the tourist information in Wanganui I was told that my quest of Kayaking down the river was destined to fail for several reasons:

Worker:"At this time of year!?! Are you crazy, its freezing out!" Lucas: "It's 12C..." W:"Well exactly! No company runs at this time of year. If it rains and you're out on the river all by yourself you could freeze!" L: Well i do have a good rain jacket and warm clothing you know..." W: Well non the less you can't do it from here anyway. All the companies ar elocated in taupo" L:"..." W: "Oh you didn't know that? Well they really should tell you guys when you're up there but oh well..."

So after having wasted my time going to towns/cities(?) where I could do absolutely nothing for 4 consecutive days I decided that it was time for me to something exciting. Not having spent any money, apart from accomodation, I decided that maybe it'd be a good idea to go adventure caving in Waitomo. So up I go, 4 hours from Wanganui, to Waitomo.

Considering 600 000 tourist or more pass through that town every year, the least one could expect is a small grocery store. But no. There is nothing other thhan backpackers, a cave museum and underground caves with sheep running around on the top. So arriving with nothing but flour, butter and Nutella isn't all too helpful. Thankfully I manage dto buy some eggs and milk off the pub down the road. (Of course there's a pub but no grocery store...) So I attempted myself at Kaiserschmarn, a traditional German dish and, how else should it be on a day where nothing goes right, managed to mess it up. So I was stuck in a terribly impersonal hostel, Hosting ”Kiwi Experience” travellers (the worst kind), having to eat my aweful tasting dinner because there was just NOTHING ELSE to be found (and I'm too stingy to throw it away). So my expected awesome experience didn't start off too well. At least I had the fact that I'd managed to secure myself the 20% off my Adventure Cave trip because I'd booked in advance to stop me from crying myself to bed.
So after making sure I wouldn't have to spend another night in that aweful place I managed to get myself sorted for transportation to a much nicer, cosier hostel after my Adventure Caving.
The Caving; was the most awestriking thing I’ve done here so far. Starting with a 100m Abseil into the bottom of the cave, in wetsuits, harnasses and all, sliding down into the abyss secured only by a rope you’re letting slip through your harness (and a massive safety rope secured to your guide... try to imagine it wasn’t there to add dramatic tension to the scenario), the possibility of (not) crashing down onto the rock face below before your very eyes, scaring you out of your witts. Needless to say I felt downright heroic after that descend and was willing and ready to tackle any obsticles in my way, whether in form of a crashing waterfall or pebbles, ready to trip me at any minute.
Moving on... So after a wonderful "Gourmet Sandwich" lunch (consisting of two ordinary sandwiches, cookies and tea) we got down to business, plunging into the (1)5C cold water, struggeling against the rapids trying to push us back down the stream. After hopping out again a brief 5 minutes later I realied that this had simply been a test for our physical abilities so they could fix their route. Well I guess I passed, barely, for the advanced track and the other guy doing it with me managed too so off we went. Now the ”rapids werent actually quite so rapid, but non the less I struggeled at times to keep my footing and had to cling onto the rocky sides. What you do really is wade upstream through the water, making your way over rock that fell down from the cave above other natural barriers. Of course these include parts where the water has hollowed the rock you walk on further than 2 metres and has filled it with water, forcing you to swim or pull yourself along the sides of the cave, using only the natural hold given to you. It was probably the most adventurous experience I’ve had here and is right up there with wild water rafting and kanioning. Being in nature and struggeling against it to reach a destination. After 4 hours underneath the earth we finally reached the cave exit, our hands and feet numbed and without any motor skills. 
The day finished with a wonderful barbeque, putting a solid piece of meat, potatoes and more on our plates. This experience showed me that sometimes its worth spending the extra money if you have it. All I did really was foolow the advice I was given by someone I met. He sayd: ”When you’re backpacking, save all you can on accomodation, food and transport, but never save on the activities because you travel to make an experience, not to save money”

I’ll stop at this point and continue later and leave this for you to read as you please. 
 Hope everyone is keeping well, so keep trecking!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb