Packing


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 10th 2009
Published: May 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is the day I need to sort out the travel funds, the packages for wandering nephews ( grainwaves, reduced cream and onion soup for gods sake) and ensure all the essentials are in the bag and less than 20kg.
I am thrilled that JB and M have lent me their camera, I have never owned a camera before so it is all a challenge, the one I purchased on line last year has been a total disaster and not a snowballs chance of getting my money back - will I ever learn, if it is too good to be true, then run like the wind.
Still considering whether to buy a four wheeled suitcase - I am told that the two wheel numbers we use in NZ are a pain in crowds and that experienced travellers opt for four wheels. Experienced travellers means wealthy, I think ,as the bags I checked out were in the $500 range. Will do a quick round of sales this morning to see if I can find a bargain otherwise I will go with what I have got ( a second hand op-shop job I had repaired). I know sublime to ridiculous.
Today would have been easier if we had woken on time and daughter hadn't run to work with car keys.
Will take photos tonight and test the photo upload techniques required for this site - I am having to learn so many skills. This is good for me she thinks through gritted death.
Will also purchase a scrap book and glue stick for James to keep mementos in, if I don't ensure he can remember all of this it will be somewhat pointless. he may als be far more inclined to do that then to write on this blog.

Advertisement



12th May 2009

Thanks for the reference
Hope you get your teeth ungritted and sort out the photo loading technique. Will be watching your travels with interest. Thoroughly recommend regular entries. You only need to miss a day or two to become way behind and confused. Best wishes to you and James for a wonderful time. Please say "Hi" to the bookcrossers in Paris.
13th May 2009

Experienced travellers
If your max weight in a case is 20 kg, I wouldn't worry too much about suitcase types. Occasionally I get my big duffle up to 30 kg or so, and then it gets a bit hard to carry, but it still runs fine on two wheels. My peak luggage weight was about 70 kgs. Perth to Osaka where I staid with Cari (SKinglist). Had my big duffle groaning, BX tote bag cubed out with books, small backpack with computer, electronic dongles, paperwork, emergency clothes and toilet bag. Plus a little slingy daypack with more clothes. I'd got a big load of Tim Tams that had to last through three continents, and as Cari had said she couldn't get decent chocolate in Japan, a few kilos of Cadburys. Oh boy, how I struggled from my hostel in Perth to the shuttle pickup point! Scrap book is a great idea. Glue stick and scissors. Put the scissors in your checked luggage. I do much the same, saving maps, ticket stubs, postcards, all the little bits of ephemera. It might look ordinary, but a receipt with "McDonalds, Boulevard St Germain" on it is something you can't get just anywhere.
14th May 2009

Hope the lack of an update as your travel continues doesn't mean that you were placed in quarantine as you both passed through HK. Good luck for safe travelling.

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb