Getting Ready


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 8th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On leave now, and only 5 sleeps till the big lift off. Tomorrow begins the big sort out so we can start packing.

Two of us, 40kg, but so many books to take to the Mega Bookcrossing (MBC) in Paris. I do so want to hook up with Bookcrossers in Paris, London and Wales. Can't go empty handed but books are so much weight. But what a marvellous way to meet intelligent locals who share your passion for reading. Bookcrossers by their very nature are generous in spirit and will freely share their love for their own country.

I love seeing a person's own environment through their eyes and hear their stories.

James and I need to sit down and start planning, what are the absolute must dos in London, Paris and Wales.

A choice each a day is the way to go I think, a pick each. ( great suggestion Jenny).

James has only one activity guaranteed Disneyland in France.

I am excited by the thoughts of the Big Fat Tyre Tour in London I see it is rated number one on a website whose name escapes me. I don't think he believes I can still ride a bike. I might buy a possum bike seat cover to help keep my "dignity" intact. 1200 tourists can't be wrong.
I will try and persuade James to consider all the activities on that top ten. I am a little overwhelmed by all the choice, we can't see everything in a month, but I would love to give James the gift of an adventurous spirit.

The London Dungeon is rated 642 and rated lousy and that has been James' only suggestion! Oh dear my negotiation skills are going to be tested. It is so important that he learns that fun can be had without spending vast amount of dollars on the usual tourist traps.

Tired, frazzled Grandma and an 11 year old with strong ideas of his own- is this trip such a good idea?

Advertisement



13th May 2009

Things to do in London
Science and Natural History Museums in Kensington. Near Hyde Park so you can get out in the sun if you want. Take a few double decker buses. James can look down on all the activity, you can look at all the famous sites. If you arrive at a reasonable hour, you can buy a couple of Oyster cards at Heathrow on the way to the Tube. They automatically give you the best rate and are capped each day, so you can ride anything as much as you want. Boat rides up and down Thames and Seine. That's always fun. One tour in Paris gives you dinner at the Eiffel Tower, but make sure you book more than a day in advance.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb